Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Butt: Handel – Messiah (2 CD, FLAC)

Butt: Handel – Messiah (2 CD, FLAC)

Butt: Handel - Messiah (2 CD, FLAC)
Butt: Handel – Messiah (2 CD, FLAC)

Composer: George Frideric Handel
Performer: Susan Hamilton, Annie Gill, Clare Wilkinson, Nicholas Mulroy, Matthew Brook
Orchestra: Dunedin Consort, Dunedin Players
Conductor: John Butt
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (image+cue)
Label: Linn Records
Size: 695 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

CD 01
01. Sinfonia
02. Recit: Comfort ye!
03. “Air: Every valley shall be exalted”
04. Chorus: And the Glory of the Lord
05. “Recit: Thus saith the Lord”
06. Air: But who may abide
07. Chorus: And He shall purify
08. Recit: Beholdd a virgin shall conceive
09. Air: O thou that tellest good tidings
10. Chorus: O thou that tellest good tidings
11. Recit: For behold!
12. Air: The people that walked in darkness
13. Chorus: For unto us a child is born
14. Pifa (Pastoral Symphony)
15. Recit: There were shepherds
16. Recit: And lo!
17. Recit: And the angel said unto them
18. Recit: And suddenly
19. Chorus: Glory to God
20. Air: Rejoice greatly
21. Recit: Then shall the eyes of the blind
22. Air: He shall feed His flock
23. Chorus: His yoke is easy
24. Chorus: Behold the lamb of God
25. Air: He was despised
26. Chorus: Surely
27. Chorus: And with His Stripes
28. Chorus: And we like sheep
29. Recit: But Who may abide

CD 02
01. Recit accomp: All they that see Him
02. Chorus: He trusted in God
03. Recit accomp: Thy rebuke
04. Air: Behold and see
05. Recit accomp: He was cut off
06. Air: But thou didst not leave
07. Chorus: Lift up your heads
08. Recit: Unto which of the angels
09. Chorus: Let all the angels
10. Air: Thou art gone up
11. Chorus: The Lord gave the word
12. Soli & Chorus: How beautiful are the feet
13. Air: Why do the nations
14. Chorus: Let us break
15. Recit: He that dwelleth
16. Chorus: Hallelujah
17. Air: I know that my redeemer liveth
18. Soli & Chorus: Since by man
19. Recit accomp: Behold I tell you a mistery
20. Air: The trumpet shall sound
21. Recit: Then shall be brought
22. Duet: O death where is thy sting
23. Chorus: But thanks
24. Air: If God be for us
25. Chorus: Worthy is the lamb
26. Chorus: Amen
27. Recit: He that dwelleth in Heaven shall laugh them to scorn
28. Air: Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron

The Dunedin Consort’s Dublin version of Messiah was Linn’s fastest selling album of 2006 and was described in many publications as the top choice Messiah for 2006. The recording was given four stars by The Times, The Guardian and BBC Music Magazine, chosen as ‘Album of the Day’ on and selected in The Scotsman’s ‘Top Ten classical music moments of 2006’.

This sought-after recording was also nominated in the 2007 Gramophone Awards.

What makes this Messiah so special is that it is the first recording to seriously explore the version and performing forces that Handel used for his legendary Dublin premiere. This unique recording signifies an exciting and historically considered representation of Messiah, which recaptures something of the freshness of the first public performances.

“The freshest, most natural, revelatory and transparently joyful Messiah I have heard for a very long time.” Gramophone

Top Ten classical music moment of 2006: “If I had to make a choice between recordings, my money would go on Dunedin’s Messiah.” The Scotsman

“Youth, freshness, joy: these are the chief characteristics of this intimate new Messiah from the talented Dunedin Consort.” (four stars) The Times

“Butt has an authoritative bass in Matthew Brook, and a superb contralto (one of three) in Clare Wilkinson.” (four stars) The Guardian

“The Dunedin artists are stylish, fresh sounding in their choral singing and often more intimate than other versions in their manner of communication.”
Performance (four stars) / Sound (four stars) BBC Music Magazine

“Here’s a reconstruction of the premiere in Dublin – and it’s very welcome. Nothing but praise.” Classic FM Magazine

Album of the Day: “One of the most compelling and engaging Messiahs on disc.”

“In some ways the most interesting [new Messiah recording] is the Linn recording. The playing of the Dunedin Players under John Butt is admirably crisp, and the singing of the Consort disciplined and clear in enunciation.” Sunday Telegraph

2 thoughts on “Butt: Handel – Messiah (2 CD, FLAC)”

Leave a Reply