Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Brüggen: Beethoven – The Symphonies. Live from Rotterdam 2011 (FLAC)

Brüggen: Beethoven – The Symphonies. Live from Rotterdam 2011 (FLAC)

Brüggen: Beethoven - The Symphonies. Live from Rotterdam 2011 (FLAC)
Brüggen: Beethoven – The Symphonies. Live from Rotterdam 2011 (FLAC)

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
Performer: Rebecca Nash, Wilke te Brummelstroete, Marcel Beekman, Michael Tews, Laurens Collegium, Laurens Cantorij
Orchestra: Orchestra of the 18th Century
Conductor: Frans Brüggen
Number of Discs: 5
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Glossa
Release: 2012
Size: 1.53 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

CD 01
Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21
01. I. Adagio molto – Allegro con brio
02. II. Andante cantabile con moto
03. III. Menuetto – Allegro molto e vivace
04. IV. Adagio – Allegro molto

Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 55 ‘Eroica’
05. I. Allegro con brio
06. II. Marcia funebre: Adagio assai
07. III. Scherzo: Allegro vivace
08. IV. Finale: Allegro molto

CD 02
Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 36
01. I. Adagio molto – Allegro molto
02. II. Larghetto
03. III. Scherzo
04. IV. Allegro molto

Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 60
05. I. Adagio – Allegro vivace
06. II. Adagio
07. III. Menuetto: Allegro vivace
08. IV. Allegro ma non troppo

CD 03
Symphony No. 6 in F major, Op. 68 ‘Pastoral’
01. I. Awakening of Cheerful Feelings Upon Arrival in the Country: Allegro ma non troppo
02. II. Scene by the Brook: Andante molto mosso
03. III. Merry Gathering of Country Folk: Allegro
04. IV. Thunderstorm: Allegro
05. V. Shepherd’s Song: Happy and Thankful Feelings after the Storm: Allegretto

Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67
06. I. Allegro con brio
07. II. Andante con moto
08. III. Allegro
09. IV. Allegro

CD 04
Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93
01. I. Allegro vivace e con brio
02. II. Allegretto scherzando
03. III. Tempo di menuetto
04. IV. Allegro vivace

Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92
05. I. Poco sostenuto – Vivace
06. II. Allegretto
07. III. Presto, assai meno presto
08. IV. Allegro con brio

CD 05
Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 ‘Choral’
01. I. Allegro ma non troppo, un poco maestoso
02. II. Molto vivace
03. III. Adagio molto e cantabile – Andante moderato
04. IV. Finale: Presto
05. IV. Recitativo: O Freunde, Nicht Diese Tone! (Bass)
06. IV. Allegro assai: Freude, Freude (Bass, Chorus)
07. IV. Allegro assai vivace. Alla marcia – Froh, froh! (Tenor, Chorus)
08. IV. Andante maestoso: Seid umschlungen – Adagio ma non troppo, ma divoto: Ihr sturzt nieder (Chorus)
09. IV. Allegro energico, sempre ben marcato: Seid umschlungen (Chorus)
10. IV. Allegro ma non tanto: Freude, Tochter aus Elysium (Quartet, Chorus)

Frans Brüggen first turned his attention to the music of Beethoven’s Nine Symphonies in the 1980s, using period instruments. Now, his quest undimmed, he returns to the glories of Beethoven’s orchestral music for a new cycle being issued in a sumptuous hybrid SACD box set on Glossa. Likewise undimmed is the rapport he shares with his orchestra for one of classical music’s greatest challenges by way of concert performances: Brüggen has long distanced himself from studio recordings.

Leave a Reply