Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Anichanov: Glière – The Red Poppy (2 CD, FLAC)

Anichanov: Glière – The Red Poppy (2 CD, FLAC)

Anichanov: Glière - The Red Poppy (2 CD, FLAC)
Anichanov: Glière - The Red Poppy (2 CD, FLAC)

Orchestra: St. Petersburg State Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Andrey Anikhanov / André Anichanov
Composer: Reinhold Gliere
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Naxos
Size: 482 MB
Recovery: 3%
Scan: yes

Act I

01. Introduction
02. Coolies’ Dance
03. Tao-Hoa’s Entrance
04. Restaurant
05. Malik’s Dance
06. Boston Waltz
07. Scene of European Dance – Captain’s Entrance and Sailors’ Dance
08. Tao-Hoa’s Scene
09. Variation with Gold Fingers
10. Coolies’ Victory Dance
11. Dance of the Soviet Sailors: Apple

Act II
12. Introduction – Scene in the Smoking Room
13. Scene
14. Dance of the Chinese Woman
15. Adagio of Four Goddesses
16. Adagio

Act II

01. Prelude
02. Tao-Hoa’s Vision
03. Scene: Procession
04. Sword Dance
05. Phoenix
06. Adagio
07. The Rose Ship

08. Charleston
09. Dance in Restaurant
10. Preparation of the Chinese Theatre
11. Umbrella Dance
12. Puppet Dance
13. Chinese Acrobats’ Dance
14. Scene: The Conspiracy
15. Scene of Confusion
16. Captain’s Scene
17. Tao-Hoa’s Scene; The Departing Ship
18. Rebellion Scene
19. Act III – Tao-Hoa’s Death
20. Act III – Apotheosis

3 thoughts on “Anichanov: Glière – The Red Poppy (2 CD, FLAC)”

  1. I downloaded this the last time it appeared and apparently forgot to leave a word of thanks. This is a very enjoyable recording that does a great job of presenting a “picture”. I’ve really enjoyed it and listened to it now 3 or 4 times. Thank you.

  2. Gliere,in my view is one of the most underrated geniuses.Dear sir,you amaze me with your profound and extensive musical knowledge.Thanks for this absolutely necessary post for those who fully appreciate the grandeur of the russian musical tradition.

Leave a Reply