Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Alsop: Bernstein – Candide (24/96 FLAC)

Alsop: Bernstein – Candide (24/96 FLAC)

Alsop: Bernstein - Candide (24/96 FLAC)
Alsop: Bernstein – Candide (24/96 FLAC)


Composer: Leonard Bernstein
Performer: Thomas Allen, Liam Bonthrone, Leonardo Capalbo, London Symphony Chorus, Thomas Atkins, Jane Archibald, Anne Sofie von Otter, Marcus Farnsworth, Guildhall School Young Artists, Frederick Jones, Carmen Artaza, Lucy McAulay
Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Marin Alsop
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: LSO Live
Catalogue: LSO0834
Release: 2021
Size: 1.87 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

CD 01
01. Overture

Act One
02. Westphalian Fanfare – “Good evening, ladies and gentlemen”
03. Life Is Happiness Indeed – Parade
04. The Best of All Possible Worlds
05. “Class is dismissed” – Happy Instrumental
06. Oh, Happy We
07. “What is he doing to my sister?” – Candide Begins His Travels
08. It Must Be So (Candide’s Meditation)
09. “The helping hand” – Battle Music – Westphalia Chorale – Battle Scene
10. “Candide, liberated by the battle”
11. Dear Boy
12 .”Candide and Dr Pangloss board a crowded ship” – Storm Music – Earthquake Music
13. Auto-da-fé (What a day)
14. Candide’s Lament
15. The Paris Waltz
16. Glitter and Be Gay
17. “Suddenly, Candide rushes in” – You Were Dead, You Know
18. “Quick, Madame, The Jew!” – Entrance of the Jew – Entrance of the Archbishop – Travel to the Stables
19. Barcarolle
20. I Am Easily Assimilated (Old Lady’s Tango)
21. “The roués, though captivated!”
22. Quartet Finale

CD 02
Act Two
01. Universal Good
02. “Welcome back”
03. My Love (Governor’s Serenade)
04. “Senor, I must take advice”
05. We Are Women (Polka)
06. “Meanwhile, Candide stumbles on through the South American jungle” – Alleluia
07. Introduction to Eldorado – Sheep Song
08. Ballad of Eldorado
09 .”Having arrived in Surinam”
10. Bon Voyage
11. “Of course, the ship sinks”
12. What’s The Use
13. “Cunegonde!” – You Were Dead, You Know (Reprise)
14. “Sir, unhand that Odalisque” – Barcarolle (Reprise)
15. Universal Good (Life is Neither) – “Come, cast aside all vain speculations”
16. Make Our Garden Grow (Finale)

Marin Alsop leads the London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus in a new recording of Bernstein’s riotous satirical operetta ‘Candide’.

Made almost three decades after the composer’s own iconic recording with the Orchestra, Alsop’s new version was captured during celebratory concerts marking Bernstein’s centenary year, and features an outstanding array of soloists, including Leonardo Capalbo (Candide), Jane Archibald (Cunégonde), Anne Sofie von Otter (The Old Lady) and Sir Thomas Allen (Dr Pangloss, Narrator).

With lyrical contributions from acerbic writers Richard Wilbur and Dorothy Parker and a young Stephen Sondheim, ‘Candide’ marries raucous humour with the extraordinary genius of Leonard Bernstein.

Released as part of National Album Day 2021.

Marking the centenary anniversary of Leonard Bernstein’s birth, Marin Alsop leads the London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus in a live, semi-staged performance of Bernstein’s Candide, based on the Alsop-led, critically acclaimed New York Philharmonic performance from 2004. This production is the composer’s final edition of the operetta with the book by Hugh Wheeler, rather than the original from Lillian Hellman, who inspired Bernstein to take on the satirical novella by Voltaire. The pair were drawn to the novella by the similarities they both saw between the actions at the time of Senator Joseph McCarthy and the House Un-American Activities Committee and the Inquisition of Voltaire’s time. The London Symphony is in fine form and delivers a nearly show-stealing performance, getting the action moving right off the jump with the rousing overture. Tenor Leonardo Capalbo in the title role and soprano Jane Archibald as Cunegonde lead an operatic cast that places the music at the fore. Also featured are the venerable Anne Sofie von Otter as the Old Lady and Sir Thomas Allen as the narrator and Dr. Pangloss. Archibald’s “Glitter and be Gay” is attractive and certainly more in the comic-opera tradition than Kristen Chenoweth’s turn with Alsop in the 2004 production. The finale “Make Our Garden Grow” is Bernstein at his best: lovers reunited, grand orchestral progressions, and tutti voices singing out in jubilation. Some may find the wit missing in this presentation, but it is there, if not slightly subdued. The narration throughout delivers a good amount of humor but, more importantly, sets the scene in the listener’s mind. All of the music is well performed, with outstanding work from the London Symphony Chorus backing the cast. A wonderful tribute in honor of the late composer by one of his mentees and admirers.

Leave a Reply