Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Adolf Jensen – Piano Music vol.1 (FLAC)

Adolf Jensen – Piano Music vol.1 (FLAC)

Adolf Jensen - Piano Music vol.1 (FLAC)
Adolf Jensen – Piano Music vol.1 (FLAC)


Composer: Adolf Jensen, Max Reger
Performer: Erling Ragnar Eriksen
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Toccata
Catalogue: TOCC0232
Release: 2015
Size: 188 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Jensen: Erotikon, Op. 44
01. No. 1. Kassandra
02. No. 2. Die Zauberin
03. No. 3. Galatea
04. No. 4. Elektra
05. No. 5. Adonisklage
06. No. 6. Eros
07. No. 7. Kypris

Jensen: Deutsche Suite in B Minor, Op. 36
08. I. Allemande
09. II. Courante
10. III. Sarabande
11. IV. Gavotte I
12. V. Gavotte II
13. VI. Gigue

Reger: 3 Lieder in Jensen-Album
14. No. 1. Lehn’ deine Wang an meine Wang’
15. No. 2. Murmelndes Luftchen
16. No. 3. Am Ufer des Flusses, des Manzanares

Jensen: Der Scheidenden, Op. 16
17. Romanze No. 1
18. Romanze No. 2

Adolf Jensen (1837–79) is one of the major figures of German Romanticism.

Though dying early, he composed a large corpus of songs and piano music, in a language fusing the heritage of Schumann, Chopin and Liszt into an individual style distinguished by its melodic and lyrical appeal.

Yet Jensen has been almost entirely forgotten: there is almost nothing of his huge output of piano pieces and songs available on CD.

This first in a series of recordings of his music hopes to restore his name to circulation.

The extensive booklet notes are by one of the experts on nineteenth-century piano music, Rohan Stewart-McDonald.

Erling R. Eriksen is professor of piano in the Department of Music and Dance at the University of Stavanger. This is his third CD for Toccata Classics. Of the first, a recital of Alnæs piano music (TOCC0067) Peter Burwasser wrote in Fanfare: ‘Eriksen plays it with great panache and affection’; and in The Guardian Tim Ashley commented on the second, a recital of Alnæs songs (TOCC 0124): ‘They’re exquisitely performed by ultra-refined mezzo Ann-Beth Solvang and pianist Erling R. Eriksen’. In recent years Eriksen has given master-classes in Guangzhou, Nanjing, Paris, Pescara, Rome, Stockholm and Weimar. In 2000 was awarded the Grieg Prize for services to Edvard Grieg and his music.

Leave a Reply