Yulianna Avdeeva - Johann Sebastian Bach (24/96 FLAC)
Yulianna Avdeeva – Johann Sebastian Bach (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer: Yulianna Avdeeva
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Mirare
Size: 1 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Bach: English Suite No. 2 in A minor, BWV807
01. I. Prélude
02. II. Allemande
03. III. Courante
04. IV. Sarabande
05. V. Bourrée I / II
06. VI. Gigue

07. Bach: Toccata in D major, BWV912

Bach: French Overture in B minor, BWV831
08. I. Ouverture
09. II. Courante
10. III. Gavotte I / II
11. IV. Passepied I / II
12. V. Sarabande
13. VI. Bourrée I / II
14. VII. Gigue
15. VIII. Echo

From the outset, what impresses is her physical command of the music – her D major Toccata sparkles with purpose and has a strong sense of cohesion through its contrasting sections. Avdeeva may be less subtle in her voicing than Hewitt but her way with the concluding virtuoso passage makes for a propulsive ride.

There is a fine sense of command and flow to Avdeeva’s playing throughout and if her renditions of the slower numbers – for instance, the Sarabandes in both the English Suite and Overture – do not explore the full depths of Bach’s expressive invention, her way with the quicker dance movements is winning. The Toccata is rendered particularly strongly. Mirare’s sound, engineered by Andres Neubronner, is beautifully balanced.

Leave a Reply