Williams, Burnside: Schubert - Die schone Mullerin (24/96 FLAC)
Williams, Burnside: Schubert – Die schone Mullerin (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Franz Schubert
Performer: Roderick Williams, Iain Burnside
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Chandos
Size: 1 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Schubert: Die schöne Müllerin, D795
01. No. 1, Das Wandern
02. No. 2, Wohin?
03. No. 3, Halt!
04. No. 4, Danksagung an den Bach
05. No. 5, Am Feierabend
06. No. 6, Der Neugierige
07. No. 7, Ungeduld
08. No. 8, Morgengruß
09. No. 9, Des Müllers Blumen
10. No. 10, Tränenregen
11. No. 11, Mein!
12. No. 12, Pause
13. No. 13, Mit dem grünen Lautenbande
14. No. 14, Der Jäger
15. No. 15, Eifersucht und Stolz
16. No. 16, Die liebe Farbe
17. No. 17, Die böse Farbe
18. No. 18, Trockne Blumen
19. No. 19, Der Müller und der Bach
20. No. 20, Des Baches Wiegenlied

In this the first of a series of three recordings of Schubert’s great song cycles for Chandos, Roderick Williams and Iain Burnside bring their formidable talents to bear on one of the pinnacles of classical lieder. In November 2015, Williams decided to immerse himself in an intensive three-year period of studying and performing the three song cycles by Schubert, following an invitation from the Wigmore Hall to perform them- with Iain- in their 2017/18 season. The process has involved not just performances in concert around the globe, but open rehearsals, master-classes, workshops, and radio broadcasts. Roderick Williams has documented all of these experiences in great detail in his fascinating Schubert Cycle Project blog. He writes: “Somewhere along the way I came to a decision; that my eventual performances at the Wigmore would not be the ultimate goal of my study; rather, the study itself, the act of preparation would be my focus. It is possible that other singers might find the process interesting, even if only to share some of the grind that is most often done alone; it is also possible that others might be intrigued, especially audiences, perhaps even (fellow) students.”

Leave a Reply