Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Waiting for Benny. A Tribute to Benny Goodman (FLAC)

Waiting for Benny. A Tribute to Benny Goodman (FLAC)

Waiting for Benny. A Tribute to Benny Goodman (FLAC)

Waiting for Benny. A Tribute to Benny Goodman (FLAC)

Composer: Béla Bartók, Leonard Bernstein, George Gershwin, Morton Gould, Francis Poulenc, Igor Stravinsky
Performer: Jean-Hisanori Sugitani, Julien Herve, Ying Lai Green, Maud Lovett
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Naxos
Catalogue: 8573032
Release: 2013
Size: 267 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Poulenc: Clarinet Sonata, Op. 184
01. I. Allegro tristamente: Allegretto – Tres calme – Tempo allegretto
02. II. Romanza: Tres calme
03. III. Allegro con fuoco: Tres anime

Bernstein: Clarinet Sonata
04. I. Grazioso
05. II. Andantino – Vivace e leggiero

Gershwin: Preludes
06. No. 1 in B flat major: Allegro ben ritmato e deciso
07. No. 2 in C sharp minor: Andante con moto e poco rubato
08. No. 3 in E flat minor: Allegro ben ritmato e deciso

Stravinsky: Three Pieces for Solo Clarinet
09. No. 1. Sempre piano e molto tranquillo: quarter note = 52
10. No. 2. quarter note = 168
11. No. 3. quarter note = 160

Gould: Benny’s Gig
12. I. Slow and nostalgic
13. II. Brisk, with drive
14. III. Very slow and hesitant
15. IV. Brisk
16. V. Slowly
17. VI. Calypso Serenade: Moderately moving
18. VII. Lazily moving
19. VIII. Jaunty

Bartók: Contrasts for violin, clarinet & piano, BB 116, Sz. 111
20. I. Verbunkos (Recruiting Dance): Moderato, ben ritmato
21. II. Piheno (Relaxation): Lento
22. III. Sebes (Fast Dance): Allegro vivace

Renowned as a virtuoso jazz clarinetist and legendary bandleader, Benny Goodman is also remembered for the works he commissioned from leading composers of his day. Poulenc’s strikingly beautiful Clarinet Sonata was his last composition, while Bernstein’s was his first published piece. Both Gershwin and Stravinsky added their distinctive stamp to the swing vibe which was all the rage in the early 20th century. The jazz flavour of Morton Gould’s Benny’s Gig is heightened by the unusual coupling of clarinet and double bass, while pungent folk rhythms define Bartók’s virtuoso Contrasts.

Leave a Reply

mersin escort - eskişehir eskort