Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/48kHz » Vanessa Wagner, Wilhem Latchoumia – This is America! (24/48 FLAC)

Vanessa Wagner, Wilhem Latchoumia – This is America! (24/48 FLAC)

Composer: John Adams, Leonard Bernstein, Philip Glass, Meredith Monk, Steve Reich
Performer: Wilhem Latchoumia, Vanessa Wagner
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: La Dolce Volta
Release: 2021
Size: 0.98 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Monk: Ellis Island

Bernstein: West Side Story: Symphonic Dances
02. I. Prologue (Arr. for 2 pianos)
03. II. Somewhere (Arr. for 2 pianos)
04. III. Mambo (Arr. for 2 pianos)
05. IV. Cha-Cha (Arr. for 2 pianos)
06. V. Meeting Scene (Arr. for 2 pianos)
07. VI. Cool (Arr. for 2 pianos)
08. VII. Fugue (Arr. for 2 pianos)
09. IX. Rumble (Arr. for 2 pianos)
10. X. Finale (Arr. for 2 pianos)

Glass: Four Movements for Two Pianos
11. I. –
12. II. –
13. III. –
14. IV. –

Adams: Hallelujah Junction
15. Movement 1
16. Movement 2
17. Movement 3

18. Reich: Piano Phase

The minimalist movement, which first appeared in the United States in the mid-1960s, was for a long time closely associated with the avant-garde but over the years it has gained a much wider audience and established itself as a major milestone in contemporary music.

Terry Riley, La Monte Young, Steve Reich and Philip Glass, all Americans, are regarded as its pioneers. While the minimalists have found an echo with wider audiences beyond that of classical music alone, their output has often been criticised by commentators who have judged their musical aims to be simplistic or superficial. A misunderstanding that Vanessa Wagner and Wilhem Latchoumia are keen to clear up.