Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » The Launy Grøndahl Legacy vol.5 (FLAC)

The Launy Grøndahl Legacy vol.5 (FLAC)

The Launy Grøndahl Legacy vol.5 (FLAC)

The Launy Grøndahl Legacy vol.5 (FLAC)

Composer: Johannes Andersen, Hakon Børresen, Louis Glass, P.S. Rung-Keller, Herman Sandby, Rudolph Simonsen
Orchestra: Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Launy Grøndahl
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Danacord
Release: 2021
Size: 674 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

Glass: Symphony No. 5 in C Op. 57 ‘Sinfonia Swastica’
01. I. Dagvirke
02. II. Hvile
03. III. Skygger
04. IV. Morgengry

Rung-Keller: Suite in D major
05. I. Preludio. Largo e cantabile
06. II. Scherzo. Allegretto
07. III. Aria. Adagio
08. IV. Intermezzo. Andantino
09. V. Arabesco. Sostenuto e grazioso
10. VI. Finale. Gaio

Sandby: Symphony No. 4
11. I. Andante con moto
12. II. Andante
13. III. Allegro Marcato

Børresen: Symphony No. 2 in A Major Op. 7 ‘Havet’
14. I. Brænding
15. II. Sommer
16. III. Tragedie
17. IV. Lystsejlads

Andersen: Suite No. 1 for Orchestra in B major
18. I. Forspil
19. II. Nocturne. Andante lento
20. III. Intermezzo. Moderato
21. IV. Elegi. Largo affettuoso
22. V. March. Allegro moderato

Simonsen: Symphony No. 2 in A Minor ‘Hellas’
23. I. Orestien. Allegro moderato
24. II. Ensomhed ved Templerne. Andante tranquillo
25. III. Sejersgudinden Pallas Athene. Poco maestoso. Allegro

Four symphonies and two suites by late-Romantic Danish composers and contemporaries of Carl Nielsen, led with passion and authority by Launy Grøndahl in studio recordings made in the twilight of his distinguished career. Noble Classical ideals and typically Danish energy mark out the Sinfonia Svastika of Louis Glass and Second Symphony by Rudolf Simonsen. The neoclassical elegance of P.S. Rung-Keller’s suite contrasts with the boisterous character of Johannes Andersen’s example. Hakon Børresen’s Second Symphony is a buoyant sea-scape, while Herman Sandby’s Fourth is coloured by the influence of Delius and Grainger. Volume 6 featuring the Kuhlau opera Lulu is in preparation for a April 2021.

Leave a Reply

mersin escort - eskişehir eskort