The Galant Bassoon (24/96 FLAC)
The Galant Bassoon (24/96 FLAC)

Performer: Matthew Wilkie, Neal Peres Da Costa, Kees Boersma
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Melba
Size: 1.38 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

Telemann: Sonata in E minor TWV41:e5
01. I. Cantabile
02. II. Allegro
03. III. Recitativo-Arioso
04. IV. Vivace

J.S. Bach: Sonata in E minor BWV1030
05. I. Andante
06. II. Largo e dolce
07. III. Presto
08. I. Largo
09. II. Allegro
10. III. Soave
11. IV. Allegro

J.S. Bach: Sonata in A minor BWV1034
12. I. Adagio ma non tanto
13. II. Allegro
14. III. Andante
15. IV. Allegro

Telemann: Sonata in F minor TWV41:f1
16. I. Triste
17. II. Allegro
18. III. Andante
19. IV. Vivace

C.P.E. Bach: Sonata in D minor Wq.132
20. I. Poco adagio
21. II. Allegro
22. III. Allegro

Take an elegant diversion with The Galant Bassoon. Matthew Wilkie, with sophistication and agility rescues this usually dolorous member of the woodwind section and places it, deservedly, in the spotlight.

The bassoon comes out of the closet!

Virtuoso bassoonist from the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Mathew Wilkie, showcases the colour and brilliance of his instrument in a sparkling and sophistication collaboration with harpsichordist Neal Peres da Costa and double bassist Kees Boersma.

A generous selection of six chamber pieces by J.S. Bach, Telemann and C.P.E. Bach—with their melodic exuberance, dance-like rhythms, consoling adagios and virtuosic flights of display—provide the perfect vehicle for the imagination, flair and musical artistry of these players.

For 20 years Matthew Wilkie has been Principal Bassoon of the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, frequently performing as soloist with them.

Neal Peres Da Costa is recognised as an expert in early music performance.

Kees Boersma is the renowned Principal Bass of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra.

The Galant Bassoon references the galant style, a change from much of the complexity and ornamentation of the Baroque to a simpler, more classical approach epitomised by Telemann, C.P.E. Bach and others in their compositions and by much of the music in this winning recital.

Leave a Reply