Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » The English Concert: Handel – La Resurrezione (24/96 FLAC)

The English Concert: Handel – La Resurrezione (24/96 FLAC)

The English Concert: Handel - La Resurrezione (24/96 FLAC)

The English Concert: Handel – La Resurrezione (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: George Frideric Handel
Performer: English Concert, Lucy Crowe, Ashley Riches, Sophie Bevan, Iestyn Davies, Hugo Hymas
Conductor: Harry Bicket
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Linn
Catalogue: CKD675
Release: 2022
Size: 2.05 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

La Resurrezione, HWV 47
CD 01
01. Part 1: Sonata

Part 1 Scene 1
02. I. Aria. Disserratevi, o porte d’Averno (Angel)
03. II. Recitative. Qual’ insolita luce (Lucifer)
04. III. Aria. Caddi, è ver (Lucifer)
05. IV. Recitative. Ma che veggio? (Lucifer, Angel)
06. V. Aria. D’amor fu consiglio (Angel)
07. VI. Recitative. E ben, questo tuo Nume (Lucifer, Angel)
08. VII. Aria. O voi, dell’Erebo (Lucifer)

Part 1 Scene 2
09. I. Recitative. Notte, notte funesta (Magdalene)
10. II. Aria. Ferma l’ali (Magdalene)
11. III. Recitative. Concedi, o Maddalena (Cleophas, Magdalene)
12. IV. Aria. Piangete, sì, piangete (Cleophas)
13. V. Recitative. Ahi, dolce mio Signore (Magdalene, Cleophas)
14. VI. Duet. Dolci chiodi (Magdalene, Cleophas)
15. VII. Recitative. O Cleofe, o Maddalena (John, Magdalene)
16. VIII. Aria. Quando è parto (John)
17. IX. Recitative. Ma dinne, e sarà vero (Cleophas, John, Magdalene)
18. X. Aria. Naufragando va per l’onde (Cleophas)
19. XI. Recitative. Itene pure, o fide (John, Magdalene)
20. XII. Aria. Così la tortorella (John)
21. XIII. Recitative. Se Maria dunque spera (Magdalene)
22. XIV. Aria. Ho un non so che nel cor (Magdalene)

Part 1 Scene 3
23. I. Recitative. Uscite pure (Angel)
24. II. Chorus. Il Nume vincitor (Angel, Chorus of Angels)

CD 02
Part 2 Scene 1
01. I. Introduction
02. II. Recitative. Di quai nuovi portenti (John)
03. III. Aria. Ecco il sol, ch’esce dal mare (John)
04. IV. Recitative. Ma ove Maria dimora (John)

Part 2 Scene 2
05. I. Aria. Risorga il mondo (Angel)
06. II. Recitative. Di rabbia indarno freme (Angel)
07. III. Recitative. Misero! ho pure udito? (Lucifer, Angel)
08. IV. Aria. Per celare il nuovo scorno (Lucifer)
09. V. Recitative. O come cieco il tuo furor delira! (Angel, Lucifer)
10. VI. Duet. Impedirlo saprò! (Lucifer, Angel)

Part 2 Scene 3
11. I. Recitative. Amica, troppo tardo (Magdalene, Cleophas)
12. II. Aria. Per me già di morire (Magdalene)
13. III. Recitative. Ahi, abborrito nome! (Lucifer)

Part 2 Scene 4
14. I. Aria. Vedo il ciel che più sereno (Cleophas)
15. II. Recitative. Cleofe, siam giunte al luogo (Magdalene, Cleophas, Angel)
16. III. Aria. Se per colpa di donna infelice (Angel)
17. IV. Recitative. Mio Gesù, mio Signore (Magdalene)
18. V. Aria. Del ciglio dolente (Magdalene)
19. VI. Recitative. Sì, sì, cerchiamo pure (Cleophas)
20. VII. Aria. Augelletti, ruscelletti (Cleophas)

Part 2 Scene 5
21. I. Recitative. Dove sì frettolosi (John, Cleophas)
22. II. Aria. Caro figlio! (John)
23. III. Recitative. Cleofe, Giovanni, udite (Magdalene, John, Cleophas)
24. IV. Aria. Se impassibile, immortale (Magdalene)
25. V. Recitative. Sì, sì, col redentore (John, Cleophas, Magdalene)
26. VI. Chorus. Diasi lode in cielo, in terra

Following their acclaimed recording of Handel’s Rodelinda, The English Concert and Harry Bicket continue their Handel series with a superb soloist line-up including Sophie Bevan, Iestyn Davies, Ashley Riches, Hugo Hymas and Lucy Crowe.

Starting with an unusual verbal altercation between an Angel and Lucifer, Handel’s La Resurrezione is an extraordinary retelling of the three days between Christ’s death and resurrection which is unlike any other Passion or Oratorio. This journey centres around women, Mary Magdalene and Mary Cleophas, in a way that seems very modern, and which mirrors the ambiguities of their feelings in music that is completely original in concept and orchestration. The journey from grief, through hope, to love is wonderfully depicted. The message seems to be that grief is the price we pay for love; and that should be part of the narrative of our lives, not the defining moment.

Leave a Reply

mersin escort - eskişehir eskort