Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Solti: Strauss – Elektra, 1967 (2 CD, FLAC)

Solti: Strauss – Elektra, 1967 (2 CD, FLAC)

Solti: Strauss - Elektra, 1967 (2 CD, FLAC)

Solti: Strauss - Elektra, 1967 (2 CD, FLAC)

Performer: Birgit Nilsson, Gerhard Stolze, Gerhard Unger, Helen Watts, Marie Collier
Orchestra: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Georg Solti
Composer: Richard Strauss
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (image+cue)
Label: Decca
Size: 514 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Elektra, opera, Op. 58 (TrV 223)
Composed by Richard Strauss
Performed by Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
with Helen Watts, Gerhard Unger, Tom Krause, Gerhard Stolze, Marie Collier, Regina Resnik, Tugomir Franc, Birgit Nilsson
Conducted by Georg Solti

01. Wo bleibt Elektra
02. Allein! Weh, ganz allein
03. Elektra!
04. Ich kann nicht sitzen und ins Dunkel starren
05. Es geht ein Laerm los
06. Was willst du? Seht doch, dort!
07. Die Goetter! bist doch selber eine Goettin
08. Ich will nichts hoeren!
09. Ich habe keine guten Naechte
10. Wenn das rechte Blutopfer
11. Was bluten muss?
12. Was sagen sie ihr denn?

01. Orest! Orest ist tot!
02. Platz da! Wer lungert so vor einer Tuer
03. Nun muss es hier von uns geschehn
04. Du! Du! denn du bist stark!
05. Nun denn, allein!
06. Was willst du, fremder Mensch
07. Elektra! Elektra
08. Orest!
09. Du wirst es tun Allein
10. Seid ihr von Sinnen
11. Ich habe ihm das Beil nicht geben koennen!
12. Es muss etwas geschehen sein
13. He! Lichter! Lichter!
14. Elektra! Schwester
15. Ob ich nich hoere
16. Hoerst du denn nicht, sie tragen ihn
17. Schweig, und tanze

Get this recording if you want complete music!

Ideally, I’d have given this recording 4.5 stars (the thing that bothers me is Marie Collier’s howling and crying as Chrysothemis: much as it is indeed called-for in the score, it seems overdone…); since that’s not available, let it have the full 5 as it otherwise deserves it. This is particularly so given its presenting the full uncut musical text of the opera (apparently all the other recordings, with the possible exception of the Sawallisch, have the same 6-7 cuts that are usually made with staged performances); in any case, the performances (particularly those of Solti and the Wiener Philharmoniker, as well as of Nilsson and Krause – what power!!!) make this recording an absolute must in any serious classical music collection – especially with any Straussians! People, do your best to get this recording

2 thoughts on “Solti: Strauss – Elektra, 1967 (2 CD, FLAC)”

Leave a Reply