Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Sławomir Wilk: Bortkiewicz – Piano Music (24/96 FLAC)

Sławomir Wilk: Bortkiewicz – Piano Music (24/96 FLAC)

Sławomir Wilk: Bortkiewicz - Piano Music (24/96 FLAC)

Sławomir Wilk: Bortkiewicz – Piano Music (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Sergei Bortkiewicz
Performer: Sławomir Wilk
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Dux
Catalogue: DUX1775
Release: 2022
Size: 1.12 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Fantasiestücke, Op. 61
01. No. 1, Warum?
02. No. 2, Ein Traum
03. No. 3, …Und das erwachen
04. No. 4, Humoreske
05. No. 5, Sie tanzt
06. No. 6, Serenade

Lyrica Nova, Op. 59
07. No. 1, Con moto affettuoso
08. No. 2, Andantino
09. No. 3, Andantino
10. No. 4, Con slancio

7 Preludes, Op. 40
11. No. 1, Allegretto
12. No. 2, Andante
13. No. 3, Con moto
14. No. 4, Sostenuto
15. No. 5, Allegro
16. No. 6, Andante dolente
17. No. 7, Appassionato

Piano Sonata No. 2 in C-Sharp Minor, Op. 60
18. I. Allegro ma non troppo
19. II. Allegretto
20. III. Andante misericordioso
21. IV. Agitato

Sergei Bortkiewicz’s artistic path was shaped by the history and geopolitics of the turbulent 20th century. He was born in Kharkiv, Ukraine, as a Russian of Polish descent; he received his education in St Petersburg and Berlin; after fleeing from revolutionary Russia, he worked in Constantinople; he spent the last decades of his life in Vienna, where he escaped from Nazi-controlled Berlin. All the above had an effect on his piano output – he was influenced by the music of Chopin and Rachmaninoff, an incurable romanticist and lyricist, looking in his compositions for the beauty of the melody. At the same time, he lived up to the musical traditions of Western Europe by composing works full of classical grace, technically refined, entering into a dialogue with the musical trends of the era.

This album presents a diverse selection of Bortkiewicz’s compositions, from lyrical miniatures, including the Chopinesque Preludes, Op. 40, depicting a wide range of moods and feelings, to the beautiful Sonata No. 2 in C-sharp Minor, Op. 60, both extremely emotional and sophisticated.

It is Sławomir Wilk (b. 1982) that is both the performer of Bortkiewicz’s music and the author of the idea of bringing his forgotten output to the audience, an excellent Polish pianist of young generation, soloist and chamber musician, awarded for his artistic activities on a number of occasions, also active in the field of organization of musical life and teaching.

Leave a Reply

mersin escort - eskişehir eskort