Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Savall: Mozart – Requiem K626, Maurerische Trauermusik K477 (FLAC)

Savall: Mozart – Requiem K626, Maurerische Trauermusik K477 (FLAC)

Savall: Mozart - Requiem K626, Maurerische Trauermusik K477 (FLAC)

Savall: Mozart - Requiem K626, Maurerische Trauermusik K477 (FLAC)

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Performer: Montserrat Figueras, Claudia Schubert, Gerd Türk, Stephan Schreckenberger
Orchestra: La Capella Reial De Catalunya, Le Concert Des Nations
Conductor: Jordi Savall
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (image+cue)
Label: Astree
Size: 251 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Maurerische Trausermusik, K.477 (Ode funèbre)

Requiem, K.626
02. Requiem
03. Dies Irae
04. Tuba Mirum
05. Rex tremendae
06. Recordare
07. Confutatis
08. Lacrimosa
09. Domine Jesu
10. Hostias
11. Sanctus
12. Benedictus
13. Agnus Dei

I will never look at the Requiem the same again

I never looked at the Requiem in this way. Other recordings — Klemperer, Karajan, Marriner — were either ponderous or conservative, but none is as beautifully rustic and blood-turning as this amazing period recording. When I listened to this, Jordi Savall became one of my favorite musicians, and I began to buy some of his other recordings.
First of all, period instruments sound great for the Mozart Requiem, as does a small choir — they execute the score with such clarity and reverence and yet characteristic 18th-century capriciousness that no other recording has done. Kudos to Jordi Savall for being the only conductor to reinsert the 3 trumpets back in the Kyrie Eleison opening. For some reason, it’s in the Breitkopf and Hartel edition, but neither Klemperer or Marriner use them — they just use the celli for that part (right before the singers start). Monserrat Figueras has such a crisp and angelic, yet heartfelt voice that brought me to tears with her, “Te decet hymnus in Jerusalem” in the Kyrie. I have never heard anyone sing it with such beauty. Special mention goes to the rest of the singers, particularly the amazing tenor and bass, Mr. Schektenberger and Mr. Turk; both are true musicians (because, well, you know how singers can be).
From the transparent stained glass of the Introit, to the deep high mass of the Kyrie, to the chilling fear of the Dies Irae, to the triumph of the Tuba Mirum, to the ghoulish horror of the Rex Tremendae Majestatis, to the fiery depths of the abyss that is the Confutatis, to the mournful lamentations of the Lacrymosa, to the peace of the Recordare, to the celebration of the Sanctus, to all other parts of this amazing work, which ranks with the Mass in B Minor among other works as true jewels of Western Civilization, enjoy this work over and over again as you envision the dead being carried up to the heavens by angels, baptized in the fire of repentance in token to an angry and vengeful God. Hands down — buy it!

8 thoughts on “Savall: Mozart – Requiem K626, Maurerische Trauermusik K477 (FLAC)”

Leave a Reply