Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Sarah Christ: Un Bal – Dances for Harp Solo (24/96 FLAC)

Sarah Christ: Un Bal – Dances for Harp Solo (24/96 FLAC)

Sarah Christ: Un Bal - Dances for Harp Solo (24/96 FLAC)

Sarah Christ: Un Bal – Dances for Harp Solo (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Hector Berlioz, Frédéric François Chopin, Claude Achille Debussy, Manuel de Falla, Ferenc Farkas, Astor Piazzólla
Performer: Sarah Christ
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Audite
Catalogue: AUDITE97776
Release: 2021
Size: 1.15 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Farkas: Danses Hongroises
02. Debussy: Valse romantique (L. 71)
03. Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14 – Un Bal
04. Bach: Partita No. 1 in B flat major, BWV825
05. Falla: Danse Espagnole No. 1 (from La Vida Breve)
06. Chopin: Waltz No. 10 in B minor, Op. 69 No. 2
07. Chopin: Waltz No. 6 in D flat major, Op. 64 No. 1 ‘Minute Waltz’
08. Chopin: Waltz No. 19 in A minor, Op. post., KKIVb:11, B 150
09. Piazzólla: Milonga del ángel
10. Piazzólla: La Muerte del Angel
11. Piazzólla: Resurrección del Ángel

Dances are among the valuable “raw materials” that composers of all epochs have incorporated into their works. Baroque suites were based on dance forms from various countries, classical symphonies usually contained a minuet or dance movement, and in the 19th century composers of emerging musical nations made use not only of folk songs but also, and above all, of the dances of their home regions in order to form an independent language.

In this album, harpist Sarah Christ shows that dance is as rich in moods as it is in forms: On “Un bal” – named after the second movement of Hector Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique – we hear the music of Johann Sebastian Bach, which moves so wonderfully freely within the framework of strict baroque models, the melancholy elegance in Chopin’s and Debussy’s waltzes, the folklore and rusticity in the pieces by Ferenc Farkas and Manuel de Falla, and the melancholy of Astor Piazzolla’s tangos.

Leave a Reply