Home » Classical Downloads » Salonen: Shostakovich – Orango Prologue, Symphony no.4 (FLAC)

Salonen: Shostakovich – Orango Prologue, Symphony no.4 (FLAC)

Salonen: Shostakovich - Orango Prologue, Symphony no.4 (FLAC)

Salonen: Shostakovich – Orango Prologue, Symphony no.4 (FLAC)

Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich
Performer: Michael Fabiano, Jordan Bisch, Abdiel Gonzalez, Ryan McKinny, Daniel Chaney, Yulia van Doren, Todd Strange, Eugene Brancoveanu
Orchestra: Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Esa-Pekka Salonen
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
Catalogue: 4790249
Release: 2012
Size: 420 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Prologue to Orango
01. 1. Adagio
02. 2. Alla marcia
03. 3. Andantino
04. 4. Andante
05. 5. Allegro
06. 6. Moderato
07. 7. Alla marcia
08. 8. Allegro moderato
09. 9. Allegretto
10. 10. Agitato
11. 11. Allegretto

Symphony No. 4 in C minor, Op. 43
12. 1. Allegretto poco moderato – Presto
13. 2. Moderato con moto
14. 3. Largo – Allegro

Commissioned to commemorate the 15th anniversary of the October Revolution in 1932, Orango tells the fantastical story of a human-ape hybrid, who, through a combination of sleazy journalism, stock-exchange swindles and blackmail, rises to become a ruthless newspaper baron

Because of its explosive political and musical content, Shostakovich left Orango unfinished. The score remained forgotten until 2004, when a 13 page piano score was found in Moscow

At the request of the composer’s widow, Gerald McBurney orchestrated the Prologue to Shostakovich’s lost opera. Its World Premiere took place at Walt Disney Hall on December 2nd, 2011, with the Los Angeles Philharmonic conducted by Esa-Pekka Salonen

On a Mahlerian scale and ranging from the darkest tragedy to dreamlike sequences of music-hall and silent-film music, Shostakovich’s Fourth Symphony is one of his most dramatic and revolutionary symphonic works. Forced by austere Soviet authorities to withdraw the radical symphony shortly before its premiere, the work was first heard in public over twenty five years later, when the composer is reported to have said, “I think in many ways the Fourth is greater than my later symphonic efforts”

The booklet contains essays by orchestrator Gerald McBurney, who tells the story of Orango’s rediscovery, and by renowned iconoclast director, Peter Sellars, who staged the work at its long-awaited Los Angeles premiere.

Leave a Reply