Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Rick Stotijn – Back to StockHome (24/96 FLAC)

Rick Stotijn – Back to StockHome (24/96 FLAC)

Rick Stotijn - Back to StockHome (24/96 FLAC)

Rick Stotijn – Back to StockHome (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Britta Byström, Carin Malmlöf-Forssling, Jesper Nordin, Eduard Tubin
Performer: Rick Stotijn, Malin Broman, Simon Crawford-Phillips
Orchestra: Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Västerås Sinfonietta
Conductor: James Gaffigan
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: BIS
Release: 2021
Size: 1.31 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Byström: 4 Walks
01. No. 3, A Walk to Schubert

Tubin: Double Bass Concerto
02. I. Allegro con moto
03. II. Andante sostenuto
04. III. Tempo primo
05. IV. Allegro non troppo, poco marciale

ByströmB: 4 Walks (Excerpts)
06. No. 1, A Walk to Bruckner

Byström: Infinite Rooms
07. Leggiero
08. Grazioso
09. Calmo
10. Quarter Note = 100
11. Calmo, cantando
12. Ritmico
13. Dolce

Byström: 4 Walks (Excerpts)
14. No. 4, A Walk to Strauss

15. Nordin: Double Concerto for Violin, Cello & Orchestra (Version for Violin, Double Bass & Piano)
16. Malmlöf-Forssling: In memoriam (Transcr. R. Stotijn for Double Bass)

For the past ten years Rick Stotijn has been making Stockholm his second home, finding musical inspiration as well as new friends there. The present disc is a reflection of this, with existing and new repertoire involving the double bass by composers who have all at some point lived and worked in the city. The oldest work, as well as the best known, is the Concerto for Double Bass by Eduard Tubin, composed in 1948. Stotijn performs it here with the support of his own orchestra, the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra under James Gaffigan. The other concerto on the disc was composed especially for Stotijn and for the violinist Malin Broman by Britta Byström. Infinite Rooms (2016) is a double concerto – in which the violinist switches between violin and viola – with inspiration from the Japanese artist Yayoi Kusama. It was awarded the most important Swedish composition prize, Stora Christ Johnson-priset, in 2020, and comes with three ‘Walks’, potential encores which can also serve as bridges to the next work during the concert, be it by Schubert, Bruckner or Strauss. The orchestra heard in Infinite Rooms is the Västerås Sinfonietta, conducted by Simon Crawford-Phillips, who also appears on the disc in the role of pianist: Jesper Nordin’s Piano Trio, is an adaptation by the composer for these performers, of an earlier score for violin, cello and orchestra. Closing the disc is In memoriam by Carin Malmlöf-Forssling, a brief vocalise for soprano here transcribed for the double bass.

Leave a Reply