Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Series » Richard Flury – The Magic Mirror, Little Ballet Music (24/96 FLAC)

Richard Flury – The Magic Mirror, Little Ballet Music (24/96 FLAC)

Richard Flury - The Magic Mirror, Little Ballet Music (24/96 FLAC)

Richard Flury – The Magic Mirror, Little Ballet Music (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Richard Flury
Performer: Tetyana Gapeyeva
Orchestra: Nuremberg Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Paul Mann
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Toccata
Catalogue: TOCC0552
Release: 2020
Size: 1.16 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Der magische Spiegel
01. No. 1, Introduction
02. No. 2, Waltz I
03. No. 3, The Student’s Serenade
04. No. 4, The Student Enters
05. No. 5, The Husband Enters
06. No. 6, Waltz II
07. No. 7, The Husband’s Farewell
08. No. 8, Scene of the Magician
09. No. 9, The Husband Is Healed
10. No. 10, The Husband Is Given a Magic Mirror
11. No. 11, Waltz III
12. No. 12, Interlude I
13. No. 13, The Student Draws the Husband
14. No. 14, Waltz IV
15. No. 15, The Student’s Presentiment of Death
16. No. 16, Bolero
17. No. 17, Interlude II
18. No. 18, Czardas
19. No. 19, Interlude III
20. No. 20, Death of the Student
21. No. 21, Return of the Husband
22. No. 22, Interlude IV
23. No. 23, Reunion with His Wife
24. No. 24, The Husband Accuses His Wife
25. No. 25, Interlude V
26. No. 26, Her Girlfriends Try to Appease Him
27. No. 27, Opening the Trunk
28. No. 28, Devils Push the Sinner into the Fire

Kleine Ballettmusik
29. I. Arabesque
30. II. Melodie
31. III. Alla polacca
32. IV. Valse pastorale
33. V. Tambourin
34. VI. Marche de Kermesse

Der magische Spiegel (‘The Magic Mirror’), a 1954 ballet by the Swiss composer Richard Flury (1896–1967), tells a pantomime tale of flirtation, cuckoldery, magical spells and perdition – but this is no puritanical morality play: using the limited resources of a chamber orchestra to surprisingly full-bodied effect, Flury conjures up a delightful sequence of dances – a generous number of waltzes, with a czardas, a bolero and more – that skip past in good-humoured succession. And behind its innocent title, the Little Ballet Music of thirty years earlier hides a buoyant dance-suite, scored with a feeling for colour that would have gone down well in Hollywood. This recording was made by the team – Paul Mann and the Nuremberg Symphony Orchestra – responsible for a ‘pulsating’ recording of Richard Flury’s one-act opera Eine florentinische Tragödie.

Leave a Reply

mersin escort - eskişehir eskort