Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Primavera I: The Wind (24/96 FLAC)

Primavera I: The Wind (24/96 FLAC)

Primavera I: The Wind (24/96 FLAC)

Primavera I: The Wind (24/96 FLAC)

Performer: Matt Haimovitz
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Pentatone
Release: 2021
Size: 1.63 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

01. Smith: Bare
02. Sanford: Suolo
03. Little: The Crocus Palimpsest
04. Okoye: Euba’s Dance
05. Sosa: Reimagined Spring
06. Figgis-Vizueta: The Motion Between Three Worlds
07. Iyer: Equal Night
08. Woolf: Diaphanous Grace
09. Sierra: Chloris & Zephyrus
10. Sizemore: Six Graces
11. Machover: Sorta Voce
12. Heggie: Spring Forward
13. Schwendinger: Fluorescenza
14. Bielawa: Missa primavera

“PRIMAVERA I the wind” is the first collection in a momentous series encompassing 81 world premieres for solo cello. This digital album presents 14 new commissions by “The Primavera Project” for groundbreaking, multi-Grammy nominated cellist Matt Haimovitz. Each composer responds to Sandro Botticelli’s enigmatic painting, Primavera, and the prophetic large-scale triptych, Primavera 2020, by world-renowned contemporary artist Charline von Heyl.

Framed by Gabriella Smith’s bare, a moving chorale to environmental turmoil and Lisa Bielawa’s Missa Primavera, a hopeful fantasy on Josquin des Pres’ cantus firmi, Vijay Iyer, David Sanford, Nkeiru Okoye, Jorge Sosa, and others bring a multitude of influences from the world of Jazz and Latin music, to Vivaldi and Scriabin.

Recorded in January 2021 at Charline von Heyl’s artist studio near downtown Marfa, Texas, the distinct and diverse contemporary compositional voices bridge the centuries, expanding and redefining the range and repertoire of the solo cello.

Leave a Reply