Petrenko: Stravinsky - Petrushka, Rossini/Respighi - La Boutique Fantasque (24/96 FLAC)
Petrenko: Stravinsky – Petrushka, Rossini/Respighi – La Boutique Fantasque (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Igor Stravinsky, Ottorino Respighi
Orchestra: Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Vasily Petrenko
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Onyx
Release: 2020
Size: 931 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Igor Stravinsky – Petrushka
01. I. The Shrovetide Fair
02. II. The Showman’s Sleight of Hand
03. III. Russian Dance
04. IV. In Petrushka’s Cell
05. V. In the Moor’s Cell
06. VI. Dance of the Ballerina
07. VII. Waltz
08. VIII. The Shrovetide Fair in the Evening
09. IX. Dance of the Wet Nurses
10. X. Entrance of the Peasant and the Bears; Entrance of the Merchant
11. XI. The Dance of the Coachmen and the Grooms
12. XII. The Masqueraders; The Scuffle between Petrushka and the Moor
13. XIII. The Showman reassures the Crowd; The Public disperses
14. XIV. Apparition of Petrushka’s Ghost

Ottorino Respighi – La Boutique Fantasque, PP120
15. I. March
16. II.Tarantella
17. III. Mazurka
18. IV. Cossack Dance
19. V. Can-can
20. VI. Valse lente
21. VII. Nocturne
22. VIII. Galop

Vasily Petrenko’s previous Stravinsky recordings have been universally praised by the critics for the fine interpretations of these great scores, the superb playing of the RLPO and for the outstanding recorded sound. The same technical team was on hand for the final album in the series – the 1911 version of Petrushka which is coupled with the delightful Rossini/Respighi La Boutique fantasque.

Leave a Reply