Home » Organ Works » Owens: Pachelbel – Organ Works vol.1 (24/96 FLAC)

Owens: Pachelbel – Organ Works vol.1 (24/96 FLAC)

Owens: Pachelbel - Organ Works vol.1 (24/96 FLAC)

Owens: Pachelbel – Organ Works vol.1 (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Johann Pachelbel
Performer: Matthew Owens
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Resonus
Release: 2021
Size: 1.15 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Prelude in D minor, P407
02. Fugue in D minor, P154
03. Toccata in F Major, P463

Chorale Partita ‘Ach, was soll ich Sünder machen’, P7a
04. I. Chorale
05. II. Partita I
06. III. Partita II
07. IV. Partita III
08. V. Partita IV
09. VI. Partita V
10. VII. Partita VI

11. Magnificat Fugue Quinti Toni I, P314
12. Magnificat Fugue Quinti Toni II, P315
13. Magnificat Fugue Quinti Toni III, P316
14.Magnificat Fugue Quinti Toni IV, P317
15. Mag nificat Fugue Quinti Toni V, P318
16. Magnificat Fugue Quinti Toni VI, P319
17. Magnificat Fugue Quinti Toni VII, P320
18. Magnificat Fugue Quinti Toni VIII, P321
19. Magnificat Fugue Quinti Toni IX, P322
20. Magnificat Fugue Quinti Toni X, P323
21. Magnificat Fugue Quinti Toni XI, P324
22. Magnificat Fugue Quinti Toni XII, P325

Also available:  Emil Gilels: The Complete RCA and Columbia Album Collection (FLAC)

23. Ciacona in F Minor, P43
24. Warum betrübst du dich, mein Herz, P483
25. Warum betrübst du dich, mein Herz, P484

Chorale Partita ‘Was Gott tut, das ist wholgetan’, P379
26. I. Chorale
27. II. Partita I
28. III. Partita II
29. IV. Partita III
30. V. Partita IV
31. VI. Partita V
32. XII. Partita VI
33. VIII. Partita VII
34. IX. Partita VIII
35. X. Partita IX

36. Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott, P106

A close contemporary of Buxtehude, Johann Pachelbel was by all accounts an outstanding keyboard player himself, and his compositions provide a fascinating stylistic bridge between early-Baroque composers such as Frescobaldi and Froberger (both of whom influenced him) and the later music of Bach and his contemporaries. Organist Matthew Owens embarks on a major exploration of the many extant organ works of Pachelbel beginning with this first volume recorded on the iconic 1965 Frobenius Organ of The Queen’s College Chapel in Oxford, considered a vital instrument in the classical organ revival in Britain. Demonstrating the huge range of his abilities as a composer, the diverse forms and styles Pachelbel used are revealed in this compelling recital.

Leave a Reply