Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/48kHz » Nordstoga: Bach – Toccatas, Preludes And Fugues (24/48 FLAC)

Nordstoga: Bach – Toccatas, Preludes And Fugues (24/48 FLAC)

Nordstoga: Bach - Toccatas, Preludes And Fugues (24/48 FLAC)

Nordstoga: Bach – Toccatas, Preludes And Fugues (24/48 FLAC)

Composer: Johannes Sebastian Bach
Performer: Kåre Nordstoga
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: LAWO
Size: 1.31 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Toccata & Fugue in D minor, BWV565
02. The Little Fugue in G minor, BWV 578

Prelude & Fugue in C major, BWV545
03. I. Prelude
04. II. Fugue

Chorale Partita BWV767 ‘O Gott, du frommer Gott’
05. Partita I
06. Partita II
07. Partita III
08. Partita IV
09. Partita V
10. Partita VI
11. Partita VII
12. Partita VIII
13. Partita IX

Prelude & Fugue in F minor, BWV534
14. I. Prelude
15. II. Fugue

16. Prelude & Fugue in G major, BWV550

Prelude & Fugue in C minor, BWV546
17. I. Prelude
18. II. Fugue

Prelude & Fugue in D major, BWV532
19. I. Prelude
20. II. Fugue

21. Fugue in B minor on a theme by Corelli, BWV579

Toccata & Fugue in F major, BWV540
22. I. Toccata
23. II. Fugue

Chorale Partita BWV766 ‘Christ, der du bist der heilige Tag’
24. Partita I
25. Partita II
26. Partita III
27. Partita IV
28. Partita V
29. Partita VI
30. Partita VII

Prelude & Fugue in A major, BWV536
31. I. Prelude
32. II. Fugue

Prelude & Fugue in A minor, BWV543
33. I. Prelude
34. II. Fugue

Prelude & Fugue in B minor, BWV544
35. I. Prelude
36. II. Fugue

On his ninth and tenth of a total of fourteen CDs of Bach’s collected organ works, Kåre Nordstoga pulls together much of what was not collected from the composer’s side – preludes and fugues.

The double form prelude (or toccata) and fugue has been an established form of composition since the 1600s. The North Germans Dietrich Buxtehude and Georg Böhm made a powerful contribution to this contrastive style in which the freer first part and the more rigorous second part are united in a dynamic whole.

The young Johann Sebastian harvested significant impressions from these two composers during his time in Lübeck and Lüneburg, and this album was recorded in Lüneburg.

As cathedral organist at Oslo Cathedral, Nordstoga frequently performs a large repertoire, which has included two popular concert series with Bach’s complete organ works. His recordings include the organ music of Bach, Brahms, Franck, Widor, and Liszt, all of Bach’s violin sonatas recorded on the cathedral’s chancel organ in collaboration with violinist Geir Inge Lotsberg, as well as several recordings of Norwegian organ music.

Leave a Reply