Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Neumann: Maliszewski – Symphonic Works (24/96 FLAC)

Neumann: Maliszewski – Symphonic Works (24/96 FLAC)

Neumann: Maliszewski - Symphonic Works (24/96 FLAC)

Neumann: Maliszewski – Symphonic Works (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Witold Maliszewski
Orchestra: Opole Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Przemysław Neumann
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: DUX
Release: 2021
Size: 3.65 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

CD 01
Symphony No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 8
01. I. Allegro sostenuto
02. II. Andante
03. III. Scherzo. Allegro giocoso
04. IV. Thème populaire. Allegro grazioso

05. Joyful Overture, Op. 11

CD 02
Symphony No. 2 in A Major, Op. 12
01. I. Moderato – Allegro grazioso
02. II. Andante espressivo
03. III. Scherzo. Allegro vivo
04. IV. Finale. Allegro con fuoco

Symphony No. 3 in C minor, Op. 14
05. I. Allegro non troppo
06. II. Adagio misterioso – Andante molto espressivo
07. IIIa. Thème. Allegretto
08. IIIb. Var. 1, Allegro passionato
09. IIIc. Var. 2, Andante con moto
10. IIId. Var. 3, Allegro impetuoso
11. IIIe. Var. 4, Adagio lugubre
12. IIIf. Var. 5, Romance. Andante non troppo
13. IIIg. Var. 6, Allegro feroce
14. IV. Finale. Allegro giocoso

CD 03
Symphony No. 4 in D Major, Op. 21 “To the Newborn and Recovered Homeland”
01. I. Lento – Allegro risoluto
02. II. Allegro scherzando
03. III. Intermezzo. Andantino scherzando
04. IV. Final. Allegro

Scherzo & Overture Honouring Schubert
05. I. Scherzo
06. II. Overture

07. Fairy Tale, Op. 30
08. Legend, Op. 31

Witold Maliszewski was a prolific Polish composer who is remembered not only for his compositional oeuvre, but also his contribution to education – he was a founder of Odessa Conservatory and a professor at Warsaw Conservatory. Students of Maliszewski include Witold Lutoslawski, Mykola Vililnsky, Shimon Shteynberg, and Boleslaw Woytowicz. His style was largely shaped by Russian musical traditions. His symphonies are non-programmatic, and only the Fourth Symphony in D major contains any trace of traditional Polish music. The present release is a showcase of his symphonic works, performed by the Opole Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Przemyslaw Neumann.

Leave a Reply