Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/44kHz » Mischa Levitzki – Complete Works for Solo Piano (24/44 FLAC)

Mischa Levitzki – Complete Works for Solo Piano (24/44 FLAC)

Mischa Levitzki - Complete Works for Solo Piano (24/44 FLAC)

Mischa Levitzki – Complete Works for Solo Piano (24/44 FLAC)

Composer: François Couperin, César Auguste Franck, Ignaz Friedman, Ossip Gabrilovich, Giovanni Battista Grazioli, Mischa Levitzki, Carl Stamitz
Performer: Margarita Glebov
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Toccata
Catalogue: TOCC0334
Release: 2016
Size: 597 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

01. Levitzki: Valse de concert, Op. 1
02. Levitzki: Waltz in A major, Op. 2 ‘Valse amour’
03. Levitzki: Gavotte, Op. 3
04. Levitzki: Arabesque valsante, Op. 6
05. Levitzki: The Enchanted Nymph
06. Levitzki: Valse tzigane, Op. 7
07. Levitzki: Dance of the Doll, Op. 8

Gabrilovich: 5 Piano Pieces, Op. 1
08. No. 4. Romance

Gabrilovich: 3 Piano Pieces, Op. 2
09. No. 1. Fantaisie – Nocturne
10. No. 2. Gavotte
11. No. 3. Feuillet d’ Album

12. Franck: Prélude, Fugue et Variation Op. 18
13. Grazioli: Adagio (arr. I. Friedman for piano)

Stamitz: Symphony in G major, Op. 13 No. 4
14. III. Prestissimo (arr. I. Friedman for piano)

Couperin: Pièces de clavecin, Book 1, Ordre cinquième
15. La Tendre Fanchon (arr. I. Friedman for piano)

Friedman: 4 Preludes, Op. 61
16. No. 1. Pensieroso
17. No. 2. Vivo e molto leggiero
18. No. 3. Con abandono
19. No. 4. Molto appassionato ed animato

Friedman: Etudes, Op. 63
20. No. 1. Allegro, molto leggiero
21. No. 2. Vivo e con delicatezza
22. No. 4. Andante molto cantabile
23. No. 9. Allegro, con abandono
24. No. 10. Allegretto, sempre leggiero
25. No. 11. Allegro patetico
26. No. 16. Allegro appassionato

What was called ‘the Golden Age of Pianism’ – the last decades of the 19th century and the first of the 20th – also saw the final flourish of the composer-pianist, a tradition that had begun with Mozart and Beethoven. This release presents little or unknown music by some of those last lions of the keyboard who were also composers, many of these pieces in their first recordings.

The handful of works left by Mischa Levitzi (1898–1941) are charming miniatures, most of them waltzes. The pieces by Ossip Gabrilowitsch (1878–1936) – the son-in-law of Mark Twain – are rather more ambitious but remain modest in scope. The works of Ignaz Friedman (1882–1948) – both original compositions and transcriptions – point to a substantial body of music that has yet to be fully explored.

Margarita Glebov – a member of the piano faculty at the International School of Music in Bethesda, Maryland – began her studies at the age of five in St Petersburg. She continued her musical career in the United States. In 2002 she received a Bachelor of Music degree from the Peabody Conservatory. She earned a Master of Music and Doctor of Musical Arts degrees from the University of Maryland. Her second disc, Sergei Lyapunov: Piano Music, released on Toccata Classics (TOCC0218) in 2013 received numerous enthusiastic reviews.

Leave a Reply