Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/88kHz » Michala Petri, Mahan Esfahani – UK DK (24/88 FLAC)

Michala Petri, Mahan Esfahani – UK DK (24/88 FLAC)

Michala Petri, Mahan Esfahani - UK DK (24/88 FLAC)

Michala Petri, Mahan Esfahani – UK DK (24/88 FLAC)

Composer: Malcolm Henry Arnold, Axel Borup-Jørgensen, Benjamin Britten, Henning Christiansen, Vagn Holmboe, Gordon Jacob, Daniel Kidane
Performer: Michala Petri, Mahan Esfahani
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: OUR Recordings
Catalogue: 6220611
Release: 2015
Size: 1.08 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Arnold: Recorder Sonatina Op. 41
01. I. Cantilena
02. II. Chaconne
03. III. Rondo

Christiansen: Det er forar (It’s Spring), Op. 56
04. I. Allegretto
05. II. Andante

Jacob: Treble Recorder Sonatina
06. I. Allegro
07. II. Tempo di menuetto
08. III. Adagio
09. IV. Allegro vivace

Holmboe: Sonata, Op. 145
10. I. Allegro spianato
11. II. Andante
12. III. Allegro scherzando

13. Kidane: Tourbillon

Britten: Alpine Suite (arr. M. Esfahani and M. Petri for recorder and harpsichord)
14. No. 1. Arrival at Zermatt
15. No. 2. Swiss Clock
16. No. 3. Nursery Slopes
17. No. 4. Alpine Scene
18. No. 5. Moto Perpetuo: Down the Piste
19. No. 6. Farewell to Zermatt

20. Borup-Jørgensen: Fantasia, Op. 75
21. Jacob: An Encore for Michala

During the height of the Greek economic crisis, the 13th International Pharos Chamber Music Festival on the island of Cyprus was in jeopardy of being cancelled due to the sudden loss of funding. Were it not for the passion and commitment of those artists who waived their performance fees, the festival would only have been remembered as another casualty of the austerity programs across Europe.

But for two of the artists, adversity fuelled a performance so compelling, that English Music critic Norman Lebrecht would describe their recital as a “A match made in heaven”.

The artists from that now legendary concert were rising star of the harpsichord Mahan Esfahani and reigning queen of the recorder, Michala Petri. So successful was their collaboration that they immediately set about planning future recordings and recitals.

The idea for this album and its unusual programme immediately suggested itself: “Michala is a Dane and Mahan lives in UK!” explains producer Lars Hannibal. And what better way to showcase their talents than with music from their respective homelands?

Focusing exclusively on 20th century repertoire – much of it composed especially for Michala, including a newly commissioned work from Daniel Kidane as well as CD premieres of works by Vagn Holmboe and Henning Christiansen – the duo offer a wide-ranging recital that fully exploits the expressive possibilities these two typically ‘Baroque’ instruments offer contemporary composers.

Leave a Reply