Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Mehta: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (24/96 FLAC)

Mehta: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (24/96 FLAC)

Mehta: Haydn - Die Schöpfung (24/96 FLAC)

Mehta: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
Performer: Mojca Erdmann, Dmitry Korchak, René Pape, Andreas Herrmann, Philharmonischer Chor München
Orchestra: Münchner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Zubin Mehta
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Münchner Philharmoniker
Catalogue: 4693576016
Release: 2021
Size: 1.96 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

Die Schöpfung, Hob. XXI
01. Ouvertüre. Die Vorstellung des Chaos (Live)
02. “Im Anfange schuf Gott Himmel und Erde” (Uriel, Chorus)
03. “Nun schwanden vor dem heiligen Strahle” (Uriel, Chorus)
04. “Und Gott machte das Firmament” (Raphael)
05. “Mit Staunen sieht das Wunderwerk” (Gabriel, Chorus)
06. “Und Gott sprac, Es sammle sich das Wasser” (Raphael)
07. “Rollend in schäumenden Wellen” (Raphael)
08. “Und Gott sprach, Es bringe die Erde Gras hervor” (Gabriel)
09. “Nun beut die Flur das frische Grün” (Gabriel)
10. “Und die himmlischen Heerscharen verkündigten” (Uriel)
11. “Stimmt an die Saiten” (Chorus)
12. “Und Gott sprach, Es sei’n Lichter” (Uriel)
13. “In vollem Glanze steiget jetzt die Sonne” (Uriel)
14. “Die Himmel erzählen die Ehre Gottes” (Gabriel, Uriel, Raphael, Chorus)
15. “Und Gott sprach, Es bringe das Wasser” (Gabriel)
16. “Auf starkem Fittiche schwinget sich der Adler stolz” (Gabriel)
17. “Und Gott schuf grosse Walfische” (Raphael)
18. “Und die Engel rührten ihr’ unsterblichen Harfen” (Raphael)
19. “In holder Anmut stehn” & “Der Herr ist gross” (Gabriel, Uriel, Raphael, Chorus)
20. “Und Gott sprach, Es bringe die Erde hervor” (Raphael)
21. “Gleich öffnet sich der Erde Schoss” (Raphael)
22. “Nun scheint in vollem Glanze der Himmel” (Raphael)
23. “Und Gott schuf den Menschen” (Uriel)
24. “Mit Würd’ und Hoheit angetan” (Uriel)
25. “Und Gott sah jedes Ding” (Raphael)
26. “Vollendet ist das grosse Werk” … (Gabriel, Uriel, Raphael, Chorus)
27. Orchestereinleitung & “Aus Rosenwolken bricht” (Uriel)
28. “Von deiner Güt’, o Herr und Gott” (Eva, Adam, Chorus)
29. “Nun ist die erste Pflicht erfüllt” (Adam, Eva)
30. “Holde Gattin, dir zur Seite” (Adam, Eva)
31. “O glücklich Paar, und glücklich immerfort” (Uriel)
32. “Singt dem Herren alle Stimmen” (Chorus)

When this recording was released in 2021, conductor Zubin Mehta was 85; it was made over three days in 2019. There isn’t an absolutely compelling novelty contained here, and this is very much an old-school Haydn performance with a full symphony orchestra and chorus (not that you’d want anything less in this work, whose rock-concert atmosphere at the initial performance is well described in the booklet). For those in search of the combination of Mehta and Haydn’s Die Schöpfung, Mehta’s performance some years ago with the Israel Philharmonic, with the sublime Barbara Hendricks as the soprano soloist, has a bit more of an edge. However, there is something satisfying about a maestro who continues to issue masterly performances at an advanced age. Part of the appeal is that all the musicians here made it their business to be at their best, not only the Münchner Philharmoniker, but the soloists, soprano Mojca Erdmann, tenor Dmitry Korchak, and bass René Pape, and the Philharmonischer Chor München. Everything comes off smoothly and nobly and certainly shows that Mehta is not done yet. The orchestra’s engineers deliver superior sound from the Philharmonie im Gasteig; the recording’s clarity enhances the enduring Enlightenment mood.

The Creation is a milestone in the history of the oratorio, a work in which Haydn set new standards, going far beyond the confines of Viennese classicism. In it he describes the creation of the world with ebullient lightness,taking the first chapter of Genesis as his starting point. Scored for what at the time were novel forces, thework features picturesque tone-painting, celebratory arias and monumental choruses, all of which underlineHaydn’s timeless message and invite us to acknowledge and preserve the beauty and variety of Creation.

Leave a Reply

mersin escort - eskişehir eskort