McCreesh: Haydn - The Seasons 1801 (24/96 FLAC)
McCreesh: Haydn – The Seasons 1801 (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
Performer: Carolyn Sampson, Jeremy Ovenden, Andrew Foster-Williams, Wrocław Philharmonic Choir
Orchestra: Wrocław Baroque Orchestra, Gabrieli Consort
Conductor: Paul McCreesh
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Signum
Release: 2017
Size: 2.15 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

The Seasons, Hob.XXI:3

01. No. 1, See Winter, Stern and Gloomy, Flees (Introduction & Accompagnato)
02. No. 2, Come, Gentle Spring! (Chorus)
03. No. 3, From Aries Shines the Bright’ning Sun (Recitative)
04. No. 4, With Eagerness the Countryman Sets Forth (Song)
05. No. 5, The Countryman has Paid his Dues (Recitative)
06. No. 6, Heav’n be Gracious, Heav’n be Bounteous (Chorus with Solos)
07. No. 7, Our Fervent Pray’rs are Heard (Introduction & Accompagnato)
08. No. 8, O What Charming Sights Delight Us (Duet)

09. No. 9, In Darkness Shrouded (Introduction & Accompaniment)
10. No. 10, The Wakeful Herdsman (Song)
11. No. 11, Behold the Sun! (Chorus with Solos)
12. No. 12, The Village Lads and Lasses (Recitative)
13. No. 13, Exhausted Nature, Fainting, Sinks (Cavatina)
14. No. 14, How Welcome Now, Ye Shady Groves! (Recitative)
15. No. 15, How Refreshing to the Senses (Aria)
16. No. 16, Behold, Arising Through the Sultry Air (Recitative)
17. No. 17, Ah! The Storm Approaches Near! (Chorus)

18. No. 18, That Which Spring has Promis’d (Introduction, Accompaniment & Recitative)
19. No. 19, Thus Nature Rewards our Toil! (Trio)
20. No. 20, See How a Bunch of Eager Lads (Recitative)
21. No. 21, Fine Ladies of the Town (Duet)
22. No. 22, On Ravag’d Hills (Recitative)
23. No. 23, See Lo on Yonder Open Field (Song)
24. No. 24, A Tight’ning Circle of Hunters (Recitative & Accompaniment)
25. No. 25, Hark, Hear the Sounds of the Chase (Chorus)
26. No. 26, On Vines, the Grapes are Glistening (Recitative)
27. No. 27, Drink Up, Drink Up, the Wine is Here! (Chorus)

28. No. 28, The Jaded Year Now Fades Away (Introduction & Accompaniment)
29. No. 29, Light and Life are Enfeebl’d (Cavatina)
30. No. 30, The Lake Lies Lock’d in Frosty Grip (Recitative & Accompaniment)
31. No. 31, The Wand’rer Stands Perplex’d (Aria)
32. No. 32, And Drawing Near the Welcome Sight (Recitative & Accompaniment)
33. No. 33, Whirring, Whirring, Whirring! (Song with Chorus)
34. No. 34, Now the Flax has all been Spun (Recitative)
35. No. 35, A Noble Squire, of Great Renown (Song with Chorus)
36. No. 36, And From the East there Blows an Icy Blast (Recitative)
37. No. 37, Consider then, Misguided Man (Song & Accompaniment)
38. No. 38, Then Dawns that Morn so Glorious (Double Chorus with Solos)

The Gabrieli Consort continue their series of award-winning collaborations with the National Forum of Music, Wrocław, Poland with a new version of Haydn’s great oratorio The Seasons. Using a new performing edition by Paul McCreesh this recording is the first to feature the large orchestral forces that Haydn called for, including a string section of 60, 10 horns and a choir of 70. As well as the combined forces of the Gabrieli Consort & Players, Wrocław Baroque Orchestra and National Forum of Music Choir, the recording features solo performances from British singers Carolyn Sampson, Jeremy Ovenden and Andrew Foster-Williams.

Leave a Reply