Manara, Signorini, Candela: Pilati - Chamber Music for Violin and Piano & Cello and Piano (24/88 FLAC)
Manara, Signorini, Candela: Pilati – Chamber Music for Violin and Piano & Cello and Piano (24/88 FLAC)

Composer: Mario Pilati
Performer: Francesco Manara, Luca Signorini, Dario Candela
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Brilliant Classics
Release: 2017
Size: 2.01 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Violin Sonata in F Minor
01. I. Allegro sostenuto
02. II. Allegretto comodo
03. III. Largo, ma non troppo

Preludio, Aria and Tarantella on old Neapolitan Folk tunes
04. I. Preludio: Mosso ma non troppo
05. II. Aria: Andantino appassionato
06. III. Tarantella: Allegro vivace

07. Suite for Strings and Piano: Suite for Piano and Strings: Sarabanda

2 Pezzi
08. 2 Pezzi: I. Allegretto comodo
09. 2 Pezzi: II. Allegro grottesco

10. Caccia
11. Echi di Napoli: Tammurriata

Cello Sonata in A Minor
12. I. Moderato mosso
13. II. Tema con variazioni
14. III. Animato

15. Inquiétude

Bagatelles, Book 1
16. I. Marcia
17. II. Ninna nanna
18. III. Basso ostinato
19. IV. Canzone a ballo
20. V. Floreal polka

Bagatelles, Book 2
21. I. Barzelletta
22. II. Rococo
23. III. Contrasto rusticano
24. IV. Intermezzo
25. V. Rondo valzer
26. VI. Fine

Mario Pilati (1903-1938) was an important figure in Italian musical life in the 20-ties and 30-ties of the 20th century. After winning the prestigious Coolidge Prize his works were also performed in the USA, a.o. by the Boston Symphony Orchestra under Koussevitsky.

Pilati’s style has its roots in the Late-Romantic language of Mahler and Richard Strauss. His compatriot Respighi’s influence is shown in his fondness for modal writing, whereas also neo-classical inspirations can be traced.

This 2CD set contains Pilati’s complete output for violin and piano and cello and piano. Prominent is the substantial and brooding Violin Sonata in F minor, the Cello Sonata in A minor and lighter fare such as the Bagatelles for piano.

Played with dedication and obvious love for the music by 3 italian musicians: Francesco Manara (violin), Luca Signorini (cello) and pianist Dario Candela.

The booklet contains an extensive composer portrait as well as commentary on the works written by Laura Esposito Pilati.

Leave a Reply