Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/88kHz » Loreggian: Pasquini – Sonate per Gravecembalo (24/88 FLAC)

Loreggian: Pasquini – Sonate per Gravecembalo (24/88 FLAC)

Loreggian: Pasquini - Sonate per Gravecembalo (24/88 FLAC)

Loreggian: Pasquini – Sonate per Gravecembalo (24/88 FLAC)

Composer: Bernardo Pasquini
Performer: Roberto Loreggian
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 5
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Brilliant Classics
Size: 6.46 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

Bernardo Pasquini:
01. Fantasia la, mifa fa
02. Variazioni d’invenzione in D. sol re
03. Canzona francese in c. sol fa ut
04. Toccata in f. fa ut
05. Canzona francese in f fa ut
06. Fantasia in e, la, mi
07. Corrente con variazione in A. la, mi, re
08. Capriccio in G. sol, re, ut
09. Capriccio breve in G. sol, re, ut
10. Bergamasca
11. Sarabanda
12. Partite diverse sopra allemande
13. Canzona francese
14. Variazioni
15. Variazioni per fiorenza
16. Tastata per l’inglese
17. Toccata seconda
18. Tastata quarta per francia
19. Variazioni per francia
20. Toccata quinta
21. Toccata sesta
22. Toccata settima
23. Toccata ottava
24. Tastata per l’inglese (2)
25. Alemanda per l’inglese di scozia – altre di seguito
26. Toccata per Monaco
27. Variazioni capricciose in C. sol fa ut
28. Ricercare con la fuga in più modi
29. Ricercare in D. sol re
30. Toccata terza
31. Partite diverse di follia
32. Toccata per lo scozzese
33. Passagagli per petronilla
34. Variazioni per petronilla
35. Variazioni (2)
36. Variazioni per il paggio todesco in G Minor
37. Mandata in Germania al baron d’artich – Al medesimo
38. Tastata per lo scozzese
39. Altra toccata per il medesimo
40. Allemanda per il danese – Per il medesimo – Per il medesimo -Per il medesimo – Per il medesimo – Per il medesimo
41. Altra per me – Bizzarria
42. Tastata per il signor Melani per Genova
43. Tastata per milone
44. Tastata per milone (2)
45. Bizzarria
46. Per milione
47. Alemanda per lo scozzese
48. Partite del saltarello
49. Tastata scozzese
50. Alemanda per lo scozzese
51. Alemanda scozzese – Corrente
52. Tastata
53. Alemanda – Corrente
54. Altra alemanda – Corrente
55. Altra – Alemanda
56. Alemanda
57. Bizzarria (2)
58. Alemanda – Corrente
59. Bizzarria (3)
60. Partite di bergamasca
61. Alemanda IX – Corrente – Altra
62. Alemanda per la medesima – Altra – Altra – Altra – Altra
63. Altre (variazioni) per la medesima
64. Toccata con lo scherzo del cucco per lo scozzese
65. Toccata ad istanza del melani
66. Toccata per spagna
67. Toccata per milone
68. Aria
69. Per lo scozzese
70. Alemanda (2)
71. Passagagli per lo scozzese
72. Bizzarria – Variazione
73. Alemanda VIII – Corrente – Altra
74. Toccata
75. Alemanda X – Corrente
76. Fuga per D. Giovanni Ruffo
77. Aria allegra – Aria – Altra – Altra – Aria per il nipotino di Mons. Ruffo -Altra per il medesimo – Altra per il medesimo
78. Passagagli per il nipotino di Mons. Ruffo
79. Aria Prima – Aria Seconda – Aria Terza – Aria Quarta – Aria Quinta -Aria Sesta – Aria Settima – Aria ottava

This exciting release presents recently discovered works from the baroque composer Bernardo Pasquini. Brought to you by early music specialist Roberto Lorregian (Albinoni: 12 Cantatas for Soprano and Contralto Op.4, BC95600), the works in this set come from the Landsberg 215 manuscript, written between 1691 and 1702.

Pasquini (1637–1710) spent most of his life in Italy, working first as an organist for the Arciconfraternita della Morte in Tuscany, following in the footsteps of Girolamo Frescobaldi and Luzzasco Luzzaschi. He later moved to Rome to work as an organist at Santa Maria in Vallicella and worked for Pope Alexander VII at the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, before he was hired by Prince Giovanni Battista Borghese. Word of Pasquini’s exceptional talent as an organist and harpsichordist travelled beyond the borders of his home country, andcommissions flooded in from wealthy patrons including the cardinals Flavio Chigi, Benedetto Pamphilj and Pietro Ottoboni, Queen Christina of Sweden, Prince Lorenzo Onofrio Colonna and the Duke of Modena Francesco II d’Este.

The compositions in Landsberg 215 were likely used for educational purposes. Performed in order, the first CD contains pieces in an imitative contrapuntal style, followed by a study of different genres. The final CD features traditional 17th-century instrumental music. Their titles indicate the recipients of the pieces, for example Allemanda per il Danese (for the Dane), or the piece’s destination Toccata per Spagna (for Spain). Sometimes we can more accurately identify the receiver of the piece: Toccata con lo scherzo del cucco was gifted to John Clerk, the baronet of Penicuik, a Scottish nobleman who met the composer during a trip to Rome and who was also tutored by Angelo Corelli. Interestingly, Pasquini has added a personalised touch to Clerk’s piece: ‘Penicuik’ in ancient Celtic means ‘cuckoo hill’, and the main theme of the piece is a descending minor third, much like the call of the cuckoo.

In this performance Roberto Lorregian recreates the sound of late-17th-century Italy, playing a copy of a harpsichord by Rome-based maker Giovanni Battista Giusti and the 1713 G. Bonatti organ at Rezzato in northern Italy. This set offers us a fine example of baroque keyboard music and an insight into Pasquini’s life as a teacher, whose monumental influence radiated across Europe.

Bernardo Pasquini (1637-1710) was an Italian composer of opera and church music. A renowned virtuoso keyboard player in his day he was one of the most important Italian composers for harpsichord and organ between Frescobaldi and Scarlatti.

This new recording on 5 CDs offers the complete works for keyboard, a sumptuous collection of diverse musical forms like Toccata, Partita, Variations, Ricercares, Canzonas, Passacaglias and separate dance forms like Allemande and Corrente. The music is in rich Italian style with the emphasis on melody and cantilena.

Roberto Loreggian plays alternatively on harpsichord and organ, a Bonatti di Rezzato instrument from 1713.

Roberto Loreggian is one of the foremost keyboard players of Italy. He successfully recorded complete keyboard cycles by Frescobaldi, Gabrieli, Galuppi and others.

Leave a Reply