Kashkashian: Bach - Six Suites for Viola Solo (24/96 FLAC)
Kashkashian: Bach – Six Suites for Viola Solo (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer: Kim Kashkashian
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: ECM
Size: 2.58 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Cello Suite No.2 in D minor BWV 1008 Transcr. for Viola
01. I. Prelude
02. II. Allemande
03. III. Courante
04. IV. Sarabande
05. V. Menuet I – Menuet II
06. VI. Gigue

Cello Suite No.1 in G major BWV 1007 – Transcr. for Viola
07. I. Praeludium
08. II. Allemande
09. III. Courante
10. IV. Sarabande
11. V. Menuet I – Menuet II
12. VI. Gigue

Cello Suite No.5 in C minor BWV 1011 – Transcr. for Viola
13. I. Prelude
14. II. Allemande
15. III. Courante
16. IV. Sarabande
17. V. Gavotte I – Gavotte II
18. VI. Gigue

Cello Suite No. 4 in E-Flat Major, BWV 1010 – Transcr. for Viola
19. I. Prelude
20. II. Allemande
21. III. Courante
22. IV. Sarabande
23. V. Bourrée I – Bourrée II
24. VI. Gigue

Cello Suite No. 3 in C Major, BWV 1009 – Transcr. for Viola
25. I. Praeludium
26. II. Allemande
27. III.Courante
28. IV. Sarabande
29. V. Bourrée I – Bourrée II
30. VI. Gigue

Cello Suite No. 6 in D Major, BWV 1012 – Transcr. for Viola
31. I. Prelude
32. II. Allemande
33. III. Courante
34. IV. Sarabande
35. V. Gavotte I – Gavotte II
36. VI. Gigue

The poetry and radiance of Bach’s Cello Suites (BWV 1007-1012) are transfigured in these remarkable interpretations by Kim Kashkashian on viola, offering “a different kind of sombreness, a different kind of dazzlement” as annotator Paul Griffiths observes.

One of the most compelling performers of classical and new music, Kashkashian has been hailed by The San Francisco Chronicle as “an artist who combines a probing, restless musical intellect with enormous beauty of tone.” An ECM artist since 1985, she approaches Bach’s music with the same commitment as revealed in her other solo recordings, the legendary Hindemith Sonatas album and the widely acclaimed (and Grammy-winning) account of Kurtág and Ligeti.

Amongst the viola player’s many other important recordings on ECM is another Bach disc – of 3 Sonatas for Viola da Gamba und Cembalo (BWV 1027-1029) – with Keith Jarrett playing the harpsichord.

Leave a Reply