Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Jennifer Johnston – A Love Letter To Liverpool (24/96 FLAC)

Jennifer Johnston – A Love Letter To Liverpool (24/96 FLAC)

Jennifer Johnston - A Love Letter To Liverpool (24/96 FLAC)

Jennifer Johnston – A Love Letter To Liverpool (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Granville Bantock, Michael Dewar Head, Stephen Hough, John Ireland, Charles Ives, Mark Simpson
Performer: Jennifer Johnston, Alisdair Hogarth
Orchestra: Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Ian Tracey
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Rubicon
Catalogue: RCD1044
Release: 2019
Size: 1.33 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. In My Liverpool Home
02. Amazing Grace
03. My Native Land
04. Homeward Bound
05. Song to the Seals
06. I saw three ships: I Saw Three Ships
07. Sea Fever
08. The Estuary
09. The Gateway to the Atlantic
10. Liverpool Lullaby
11. Johnny Todd
12. What Will They Tell Me Tonight?
13. Madam and her Madam
14. The World You’re Coming Into
15. Blackbird
16. A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square
17. Danny Boy
18. The Last Rose of Summer
19. The Leaving of Liverpool
20. All Our Different Voices
21. You’ll Never Walk Alone

Liverpool is a city with a fiercely independent spirit and a rich and dramatic cultural history matching its turbulent development. The past 30 years have witnessed Liverpool’s renaissance, and, thanks to pure Scouse grit, it has reinvented itself as a city of innovation and entrepreneurialism and seen staggering levels of regeneration. Jennifer Johnston’s new album is an affectionate celebration to her native city.

The long-awaited debut solo album of one of the UK’s brightest classical music stars, ‘A Love Letter To Liverpool’ is Jennifer Johnston’s heartfelt tribute to her home city, with piano accompaniment from Alisdair Hogarth.

Jennifer is Artist in Residence with the world-renowned Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra until the end of 2020, who appear on the disc alongside their Choir and the Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company. The disc was recorded at the Friary and the Philharmonic Hall in Liverpool and will be released by Rubicon Classics.

Jennifer Johnston comments: “I am thrilled that my debut album is a tribute to my home city, its music and its people. I am proud to be a Scouser, and still make Liverpool my home, so becoming Artist in Residence with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra is a huge honour.”

All profits from the album will be donated equally to two outstanding charitable organisations: Alder Hey Children’s Hospital and Charity supports the work of one of the world’s leading specialist children’s hospitals, and money raised by the album will contribute to the construction of a critically important in-patient mental health unit for under-13’s; and the Liverpool Phil’s Youth Company, which encourages the development of the next generation of young musicians and composers from across Merseyside. Jennifer is especially proud that this album contains the works of seven of the Liverpool Phil’s young composers, all of whom are at the beginning of their careers. Jennifer gratefully acknowledges the support of the album’s principal sponsors; Simon Yates & Kevin Roon, the Rushworth Foundation and Amion Consulting.

Leave a Reply