Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Järvi: Glazunov – The Symphonies (FLAC)

Järvi: Glazunov – The Symphonies (FLAC)

Järvi: Glazunov - The Symphonies (FLAC)

Järvi: Glazunov – The Symphonies (FLAC)

Composer: Alexander Glazunov
Orchestra: Symphonie-Orchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Bamberger Symphoniker
Conductor: Neeme Järvi
Number of Discs: 5
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Orfeo
Catalogue: C977195
Release: 2019
Size: 1.36 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

CD 01
Symphony No. 1 in E major, Op. 5 ‘Slavyanskaya’
01. I. Allegro
02. II. Scherzo. Allegro
03. III. Adagio
04. IV. Finale. Allegro

Symphony No. 2 in F sharp minor, Op. 16
05. I. Andante maestoso
06. II. Andante
07. III. Allegro vivace
08. IV. Intrada e finale

CD 02
Symphony No. 3 in D major, Op. 33
01. I. Allegro
02. II. Vivace
03. III. Andante
04. IV. Allegro moderato

Symphony No. 4 in E flat major, Op. 48
05. I. Andante – Allegro moderato
06. II. Scherzo. Allegro vivace
07. III. Andante – Allegro

CD 03
Symphony No. 5 in B-flat major, Op. 55
01. I. Moderato maestoso – Allegro
02. II. Scherzo. Moderato
03. III. Andante
04. IV. Allegro maestoso

Symphony No. 6 in C minor, Op. 58
05. I. Adagio – Allegro
06. II. Theme & Variations
07. III. Intermezzo. Allegretto
08. IV. Finale. Andante maestoso

CD 04
Symphony No. 7 in F major, Op. 77 ‘Pastoral’
01. I. Allegro moderato
02. II. Andante
03. III. Scherzo. Allegro giocoso
04. IV. Finale. Allegro maestoso

Symphony No. 8 in E flat major, Op. 83
05. I. Allegro moderato
06. II. Mesto
07. III. Allegro
08. IV. Moderato sostenuto

CD 05
01. Ouverture solennelle, Op. 73
02. Poème lyrique Op. 12
03. Concert Waltz No. 1 in D, Op. 47
04. Concert Waltz No. 2 in F Major, Op. 51
05. Wedding procession in E flat Op. 21 Wedding Procession, Op. 21

Glazunov’s symphonies are a significant cycle within the Russian symphony, to which similar status should be accorded as the today considerably better-known symphonic cycles by his successors Prokofiev, Myaskovsky or Shostakovich. Like Camille Saint-Saëns in France or Max Bruch in Germany, Alexander Glazunov was a truly progressive, but formally conservative-thinking composer who was not willing to sacrifice the traditional symphonic form to superficial Modernism. It is now time to rehabilitate Glazunov’s symphonies. Whoever studies them intensively will discover some of the finest music of their time and particularly under the wonderful baton of the great Glazunov champion Neeme Järvi.

Leave a Reply

mersin escort - eskişehir eskort