Jansons: Stravinsky - Le Sacre du Printemps, The Firebird Suite (24/48 FLAC)
Jansons: Stravinsky – Le Sacre du Printemps, The Firebird Suite (24/48 FLAC)

Composer: Igor Stravinsky
Orchestra: Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Conductor: Mariss Jansons
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: BR Klassik
Release: 2018
Size: 622 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

The Rite of Spring,
1. “Adoration of the Earth” (1947 Version):
01. I. Introduction
02. II. The Augurs of Spring – Dances of the Young Girls
03. III. Ritual of Abduction
04. IV. Spring Rounds
05. V. Ritual of the River Tribes
06. VI. Procession of Sage
07. VII. Adoration of the Earth
08. VIII. Dance of the Earth

2. “The Sacrifice” (1947 Version):
09. IX. Introduction
10. X. Mystic Circles of the Young Girls
11. XI. Glorification of the Chosen One
12. XII. Evocation of the Ancestors
13. XIII. Ritual Action of the Ancestors
14. XIV. Sacrificial Dance

The Firebird Suite (1945 Version):
15. Ia. Introduction
16. Ib. The Firebird and Its Dance
17. Ic. The Firebird’s Variation
18. II. Pantomime I
19. III. Pas de deux. Firebird and Ivan Tsarevich
20. IV. Pantomime II
21. V. Scherzo. Dance of the Princesses
22. VI. Pantomime III
23. VII. The Princesses’ Khorovod
24. VIII. Infernal Dance of King Kashchei
25. IX. Berceuse
26. X. Finale

Recorded: 14-17 January 2009
Recording Venue: Philharmonie, Gasteig, München

Before the First World War, Igor Stravinsky composed the first three of his great ballet music works for large orchestra, indeed, the most important of his ballets in general: “L’oiseau de feu” (The Firebird) in 1910, “Petrushka” in 1911, and “Le sacre du printemps” (The Rite of Spring) in 1913 especially for the famous ballet ensemble “Les Ballets Russes”, one of the most important dance companies of the 20th century, and its impresario Sergei Diaghilev. The first of these ballets ranks as a pioneering work of the early 20th century – and the third, regarded as a key work of 20th-century music due to its extraordinary rhythmic and tonal structures, can both be experienced on this new CD from BR-KLASSIK – in live recordings with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks under its chief conductor Mariss Jansons, and in masterly interpretations.

Leave a Reply