I and Silence. Women’s Voices in American Song (24/96 FLAC)
I and Silence. Women’s Voices in American Song (24/96 FLAC)

Performer: Marta Fontanals-Simmons, Lana Bode
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Delphian
Size: 1.92 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

Copland: Twelve Poems of Emily Dickinson
01. No. 3, Why Do They Shut Me out of Heaven?
02. No. 4, The World Feels Dusty
03. No. 9, I Felt a Funeral in My Brain

Argento: From the Diary of Virginia Woolf
04. No. 1, The Diary
05. No. 2, Anxiety
06. No. 3, Fancy
07. No. 4, Hardy’s Funeral
08. No. 5, Rome
09. No. 6, War
10. No. 7, Parents
11. No. 8, Last Entry

Barber: Four Songs, Op. 13
12. No. 4, Nocturne

Lieberson, P: Rilke Songs
13. No. 1, O ihr Zärtlichen
14. No. 2, Atmen, du unsichtbares Gedicht!
15. No. 3, Wolle die Wandlung
16. No. 4, Blumenmuskel, der der Anemone
17. No. 5, Stiller Freund

18. Crumb, G: 3 Early Songs: . No. 2, Let It Be Forgotten

‘Did I sing too loud?’ asked Emily Dickinson in 1861, in a poem set a century later by Aaron Copland. The expectations of silence often placed on women, historically and politically, and music’s power to break through them, are the themes of this deeply personal recital by mezzo-soprano Marta FontanalsSimmons and pianist Lana Bode.

Their programme reflects and channels the voices of female writers and musicians: Dickinson herself, Sara Teasdale and Virginia Woolf are among those whose words are set in the works brought together here, two of which – Dominick Argento’s From the Diary of Virginia Woolf and Peter Lieberson’s Rilke Songs – were written for great mezzo-sopranos of the recent past, Dame Janet Baker and Lorraine Hunt Lieberson.

Leave a Reply