Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Series » L'Oiseau - Lyre » Hogwood: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Hogwood: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Hogwood: Haydn - Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Hogwood: Haydn - Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
Performer: Kim Ampf, New College Choir
Orchestra: The Academy of Ancient Music
Conductor: Christopher Hogwood
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (image+cue)
Label: Decca
Size: 355 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Gabriel – Emma Kirkby
Uriel – Anthony Rolfe
Raphael – Michael George
Eva – Emma Kirkby
Adam – Michael George

CD 1
01. The Representation of Chaos
02. In the beginning God created the heaven
03. Now vanish for the holy beams
04. And God made the firmament
05. The marv’lous work beholds amazed
06. And God said: Let the waters under the heavens be gathered t…
07. Rolling in foaming billows
08. And God said: Let the earth bring forth grass
09. With verdure clad the fields appear
10. And the heavenly hosts proclaimed
11. Awake the harp
12. And God said: Let there be lights in the firmament of heaven
13. In splendour bright is rising now the sun
14. The heavens are telling the Glory of God

CD 2
01. And God Said Let The Waters Bring Forth
02. On Mighty Pens Uplifted Soars The Eagle Aloft
03. And God Created Great Whales
04. And The Angels Struck Their Immortal Harps
05. Most Beautiful Appear
06. And God Said Let The Earth Bring Forth
07. Straight Opening Her Fertile Womb
08. Now Heaven In Fullest Glory Shone
09. And God Created Man
10. In Native Worth And Honour Clad
11. And God Saw Everything
12. Achieved Is The Glorious Work
13. In Rosy Mantle Appears
14. By Thee With Bliss, O Bounteous Lord
15. Our Duty We Performed Now
16. Graceful Consort At Thy Side
17. O Happy Pair
18. Sing The Lord Ye Voices All

Despite criticism here, a WONDERFUL recording

With all respect to Mr. Beegle, who wrote a review of this performance on Oct. 24, 2015, I must nonetheless disagree vehemently with his review. I own perhaps 20 recorded performances of this work, and have performed it many times myself. The Jochum [note correct spelling] performance he recommends is indeed a good version. Jochum had some of the finest singers of the 1950s performing as soloists (the recording was made at a live performance on April 28, 1951 in Munich). If what you want is Hadyn filtered through the late nineteenth century, this is a fine performance, and the singers and orchestra are the very best. It is a deeply spiritual performance. It is, however, a style of performance Haydn probably would not have recognized.

The Hogwood performance, on the other hand, is a studio performance. It takes advantage of some of the finest soloists of the1980s and 90s, and was recorded in 1990. This is a performance Haydn would recognize, and probably approve.

The question of English or German arises, of course. In this case, singing the work in English is NOT a travesty, since Haydn was familiar with both German and English versions.

I’m glad I don’t have to choose between the two performances—and there are other truly magnificent performances of the work available as well.

I am a bit puzzled by Mr. Beegle’s blanket excoriation, however. The Hogwood performance is beautiful, and very revealing. The smaller forces and period instruments (brilliantly played, I might add) allow great insight into texture, structure, and provenance. This performance is lithe and revealing, filled with the wonder of newness that surely pervaded its earliest performances. I just wish Mr. Beegle could (or would) listen with a more open mind. There is much beauty in the Hogwood performance, and much to learn from it. I for one would hate to be without it, and I recommend it very highly,

3 thoughts on “Hogwood: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)”

Leave a Reply