Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Hauk: Mayr – Mass in E-Flat Major (24/96 FLAC)

Hauk: Mayr – Mass in E-Flat Major (24/96 FLAC)

Hauk: Mayr - Mass in E-Flat Major (24/96 FLAC)

Hauk: Mayr – Mass in E-Flat Major (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Johann Simon Mayr
Performer: Dorota Szczepańska, Johanna Krödel, Markus Schäfer, Daniel Ochoa, Simon Mayr Chorus
Orchestra: Concerto de Bassus
Conductor: Franz Hauk
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Naxos
Release: 2020
Size: 1.51 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Mass in E-Flat Major (Arr. F. Hauk & M. Hößl)
01. Ia. Kyrie. Kyrie eleison
02. Ib. Kyrie. Christe eleison
03. Ic. Kyrie. Kyrie eleison
04. IIa. Gloria
05. IIb. Gloria. Et in terra
06. IIc. Gloria. Gratias agimus
07. IId. Gloria. Domine Deus
08. IIe. Gloria. Qui tollis
09. IIf. Gloria. Qui sedes
10. IIg. Gloria. Cum sancto
11. IIIa. Credo
12. IIIb. Credo. Et incarnatus
13. IIIc. Credo. Et resurrexit
14. IIId. Credo. Et vitam venturi
15. IV. Sanctus
16. V. Benedictus
17. VI. Agnus Dei

Mayr’s great Mass in E flat major is a late work, largely composed in 1843. It conforms to the prevailing Italian messa concertata tradition with its clear divisions into distinct vocal numbers, as opposed to the symphonic Mass which held sway north of the Alps. In this reconstruction and musical revival, Mayr’s imposing, tonally consonant and expressive setting can be heard in all its grandeur and eloquence. With its striking vocal solos and choruses, and characteristically songlike instrumental roles, Mayr contributed a late pinnacle in the long history of this form of the Mass.

Leave a Reply