Farr: Nowell Sing We (24/96 FLAC)
Farr: Nowell Sing We (24/96 FLAC)

Performer: Nicholas Freestone, Alex Goodwin, Ben Cunningham, The Choir of Worcester College
Conductor: Stephen Farr
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Resonus
Size: 1.12 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Gabriel Jackson: Nowell Sing We
02. Edmund Rubbra: The Virgin’s Cradle Hymn
03. Lennox Berkeley; Sweet Was The Song
04. Nico Muhly: O Antiphon Preludes: I. O Sapientia
05. Richard Rodney Bennett: Puer Nobis
06. John Scott: Nova! Nova!
07. Nico Muhly: O Antiphon Preludes: II. O Adonai
08. Colin Matthews: The Angel’s Carol
09. Herbert Howells: O Mortal Man (Sussex Mummers’ Carol)
10. Nico Muhly: O Antiphon Preludes: III. O Radix Jesse
11. Sir Peter Maxwell Davies: Kings and Shepherds
12. Philip Moore: Lo, That is a Marvellous Change
13. Giles Swayne: O Magnum Mysterium
14. Nico Muhly: O Antiphon Preludes: IV. O Clavis David
15. Hafliði Hallgrímsson: Christ Was Born On Christmas Day
16. Richard Rodney Bennett: I Saw Three Ships
17. Francis Pott: Lute-Book Lullaby
18. Nico Muhly: O Antiphon Preludes: V. O Oriens
19. Grayston Ives: This Is The Record of John
20. Richard Lloyd: Drop Down, Ye Heavens
21. Nico Muhly: O Antiphon Preludes: VI. O Rex Gentium
22. Michael Finnissy: Ave regina coelorum
23. Richard Rodney Bennett: Nowell, Nowell, Tidings True
24. Jamie W. Hall: As I Lay Upon A Night
25. Nico Muhly: O Antiphon Preludes: VII. O Emmanuel

The Choir of Worcester College, Oxford
Nicholas Freestone (09, 13, 20)
Alex Goodwin (03)
Ben Cunningham (19)
organ scholars

Stephen Farr – conductor & solo organ

Recorded in Keble College Chapel, Oxford on 30 June – 2 July 2014

Entitled Nowell Sing We, this new selection contains works from a wide variety of celebrated composers including Gabriel Jackson, Peter Maxwell Davies, Lennox Berkeley, Colin Matthews, Francis Pott, Edmund Rubbra, Richard Rodney Bennett & Herbert Howells among many others, with no fewer than nine world premieres. Also featured throughout the programme are the seven O Antiphon Preludes for solo organ by Nico Muhly, performed here by Stephen Farr on the organ of Keble College, Oxford.

Leave a Reply