Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Esther Birringer – Once Upon A Time (24/96 FLAC)

Esther Birringer – Once Upon A Time (24/96 FLAC)

Esther Birringer - Once Upon A Time (24/96 FLAC)

Esther Birringer – Once Upon A Time (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Sergei Prokofiev, Igor Stravinsky, Pyotr Il’yich Tchaikovsky
Performer: Esther Birringer
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Rubicon
Catalogue: RCD1067
Release: 2021
Size: 1.09 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Stravinsky: Three Movements from Petrushka, K. 12
01. I. Russian Dance
02. II. Petrushka’s Room
03. III. The Shrovetide Fair

Prokofiev: Romeo & Juliet, 10 Pieces for Piano, Op. 75
04. I. Folk Dance
05. II. Scene
06. III. Menuet
07. IV. The Young Juliet
08. V. Masks
09. VI. The Montagues and Capulets
10. VII. Friar Laurence
11. VIII. Mercutio
12. IX. Lily Dance of the Maidens
13. X. Romeo bids Juliet Farewell

Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker Suite, Op. 71a
14. I. March
15. II. Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy
16. III. Tarantella
17. IV. Intermezzo
18. V. Trepak (Russian Dance)
19. VI.The Tea (Chinese Dance)
20. VII. Andante maestoso

Esther Birringer has chosen three great Russian ballets for her recital album. All three have great stories – drama, love and tragedy in the case of Petrushka and Romeo & Juliet, and fantasy in The Nutcracker, which is based on a tale by ETA Hoffman. Tchaikovsky’s suite from ballet was arranged for piano by Mikhail Pletnev. Prokofiev, a superb pianist, arranged numbers from his ballet Romeo & Juliet for piano, and Stravinsky took three sections from his ballet Petrushka and created the Three Pieces – it is a superb showcase for any pianist and makes great demands upon the performer.

Leave a Reply

mersin escort - eskişehir eskort