Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Edition Géza Anda Vol. 2: Beethoven, Brahms & Liszt (FLAC)

Edition Géza Anda Vol. 2: Beethoven, Brahms & Liszt (FLAC)

Edition Géza Anda Vol. 2: Beethoven, Brahms & Liszt (FLAC)

Edition Géza Anda Vol. 2: Beethoven, Brahms & Liszt (FLAC)

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven, Johannes Brahms, Ferencz Liszt
Performer: Géza Anda
Orchestra: WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln
Conductor: Géza Anda
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Audite
Catalogue: AUDITE23408
Release: 2008
Size: 534 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

CD 01
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C major (01:07:14)
01. Allegro con brio
02. Largo
03. Rondo. Allegro scherzando

Beethoven: Sonata in D major, Op. 10 No. 3
04. Presto
05. Largo e mesto
06. Menuetto. Allegro
07. Rondo. Allegro

Beethoven: Sonata in A major, Op. 101
08. Etwas lebhaft, und mit der innigsten Empfindung. Allegretto, ma non troppo
09. Lebhaft, marschmäßig. Vivace alla marcia
10. Langsam und sehnsuchtsvoll. Adagio ma non troppo, con affetto
11. Geschwind, doch nicht zu sehr und mit Entschlossenheit. Allegro

CD 02
Brahms: Sonata No. 3 in F minor, Op. 5
01. Allegro maestoso
02. Andante espressivo
03. Scherzo. Allegro energico
04. Intermezzo. Andante molto
05. Finale. Allegro moderato ma rubato

Brahms: 3 Intermezzi, Op. 117
06. Intermezzo No. 1 E-Flat major, Op. 117 No. 1. Andante moderato
07. Intermezzo No. 2 b-Flat minor, Op. 117 No. 2. Andante non troppo
08. Intermezzo No. 3 c-Sharp minor, Op. 117 No. 3. Andante con moto

Liszt: Sonata in B minor, S. 187
09. Lento assai – Allegro energico • Grandioso – Recitativo • Andante sostenuto • Allegro energico

This second volume of recordings by Géza Anda is dedicated to 19th century piano masterpieces. Impressive recordings from 1955 until 1969 can be heard, beginning with Beethoven: the strictly non-histrionic but nonetheless poetic interpretation of an early and a late Sonata is contrasted by an energetic and intense performance of the Piano Concerto Op.15.

Anda’s significance as a Brahms interpreter is demonstrated by his powerful performance of the early Piano Sonata Op. 5 and his subtle, melancholy realisation of the three late Intermezzi.

The high point of this disc, however, is Anda’s technically stupendous and musically superior interpretation of Liszt’s B minor Sonata, whose combination of grandeur and quasi-improvisatory boldness only few pianists are able to execute.

The four-part series, largely consisting of so far unreleased studio and concert recordings of the WDR Cologne from the years 1952 to 1970, closes a gap in the discography of the Hungarian Géza Anda, one of the most important pianists of the second half of the 20th century. With piano compositions from three epochs – including works of Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms, Liszt, Schumann, Chopin and Bartók – Anda presents a representative cross-section of his wide repertoire, revealing himself not only as an exceptional pianist free of any form of romanticisation, but also as a conductor.

Leave a Reply

mersin escort - eskişehir eskort