Douglas: Tchaikovsky Plus One vol.1 (24/96 FLAC)
Douglas: Tchaikovsky Plus One vol.1 (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky, Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Performer: Barry Douglas
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Chandos
Release: 2018
Size: 1.13 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Tchaikovsky: The Seasons, Op. 37b
01. I. January. By the Fireside
02. II. February. Carnival
03. III. March. Song of the Lark
04. IV. April. Snowdrop
05. V. May. May Nights
06. VI. June. Barcarolle
07. VII. July. Song of the Reaper
08. VIII. August. The Harvest
09. IX. September. The Hunt
10. X. October. Autumn Song
11. XI. November. Troika
12. XII. December. Christmas

Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition
13. Promenade I
14. I. Gnomus
15. Promenade II
16. II. Il vecchio castello
17. Promenade III
18. III. Tuileries (Dispute d’enfants après jeux)
19. IV. Bydło
20. Promenade IV
21. V. Ballet of Unhatched Chicks in Their Shells
22. VI. Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuÿle
23. Promenade V
24. VII. Limoges, le marché (La grande nouvelle)
25. VIIIa. Catacombæ (Sepulcrum romanum)
26. VIIIb. Con mortuis in lingua mortua
27. IX. The Hut on Fowl’s Legs (Baba-Yagá)
28. X. The Great Gate of Kiev

Two of the most popular romantic Russian piano works from the mid-1870s are heard on this new album from the celebrated Barry Douglas. Lyricism lies at the heart of the twelve movements of Tchaikovsky’s The Seasons (1875 – 76), commissioned by the periodical Nouvelliste to appear monthly, accompanied by poetic epigraphs. Tchaikovsky got his servant to remind him of his duty on a certain day in the month, and composed each piece in a single sitting. Each reflects characteristics of a different month, the style is simple, the mood introspective.

Leave a Reply