Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/192kHz » Davidsen, Janowski: Beethoven – Fidelio (24/192 FLAC)

Davidsen, Janowski: Beethoven – Fidelio (24/192 FLAC)

Davidsen, Janowski: Beethoven - Fidelio (24/192 FLAC)

Davidsen, Janowski: Beethoven – Fidelio (24/192 FLAC)

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
Performer: Lise Davidsen, Christian Elsner, Georg Zeppenfeld, Johannes Martin Kränzle, Christina Landshamer, Cornel Frey, Günther Groissböck
Orchestra: Dresdner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Marek Janowski
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Pentatone
Catalogue: PTC5186880
Release: 2021
Size: 3.66 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Beethoven: Fidelio, Op. 72
CD 01
Act I
01. Overture
02. Jetzt, Schätzchen, jetzt sind wir allein
03. Jaquino! Jaquino!
04. O wär’ ich schon mit dir vereint
05. Die Stunde naht
06. Mir ist so wunderbar
07. Höre, Fidelio
08. Hat man nicht auch Gold beineben
09. Es wäre mir so lieb
10. Gut, Söhnchen, gut
11. March
12. Wo sind die Depeschen?
13. Ha! Ha! Ha! Welch ein Augenblick
14. Hauptmann!
15. Jetzt, Alter, jetzt hat es Eile!
16. Abscheulicher! Wo eilst du hin?
17. Rocco, ich ersuchte Euch
18. O welche Lust
19. Nun sprecht, wie ging’s?
20. Ach, Vater, Vater eilt!
21. Verweg’ner Alter!
22. Leb’ wohl, du warmes Sonnenlicht

Also available:  Christmas In Harvard Square (24/96 FLAC)

CD 02
Act II
01. Gott! Welch Dunkel hier!
02. Wie kalt ist es
03. Nur hurtig fort, nur frisch gegraben
04. Er erwacht!
05. Euch werde Lohn in besser’n Welten
06. Ist alles bereit?
07. Er sterbe!
08. Vater Rocco! Der Minister kommt an!
09. Es schlägt der Rache Stunde
10. Meine Leonore
11. O namenlose Freude!
12. Gute Botschaft!
13. Heil sei dem Tag
14. Des besten Königs Wink und Wille
15. Wohlan, so helfet!
16. O Gott! O Gott!
17. Wer ein holdes Weib errungen

After their acclaimed recording of Weber’s Freischütz, the Dresdner Philharmonie and its Principal conductor Marek Janowski present yet another German opera stereo classic with Beethoven’s Fidelio. They work together with a stellar cast — well-seasoned in German opera — including Lise Davidsen (Fidelio/Leonore), Christian Elsner (Florestan), Georg Zeppenfeld (Rocco), Christina Landshamer (Marzelline), Cornel Frey (Jaquino), Johannes Martin Kränzle (Don Pizzarro) and Günther Groissböck (Don Fernando). This should have been a live concert recording, but Covid-19 frustrated those plans. Luckily, it turned out possible to record Beethoven’s masterpiece in two studio sessions, with two different, established choirs: the Sächsischer Staatsopernchor Dresden, as well as the MDR Leipzig Radio Choir. Katharina Wagner and Daniel Weber have adapted the original dialogues for this recording. Fidelio is the quintessential rescue opera, in which a wife goes to any lengths to free her beloved from the chains of a barbaric, oppressive regime. Beethoven’s opera on the power of love and the enlightening power of humanity still resonates with us today, and its music continues to delight and inspire.

Marek Janowski, the Dresdner Philharmonie and the MDR Leipzig Radio Choir have a vast PENTATONE discography, including complete recordings of Mascagni’s Cavalleria rusticana and Puccini’s Il Tabarro (both released in 2020). Lise Davidsen starred in Weber’s Freischütz (2019), while Christian Elsner, Georg Zeppenfeld and Günther Groissböck contributed to PENTATONE’s complete Wagner operas recording, amongst others. Christina Landshamer, Cornel Frey, Johannes Martin Kränzle and the Sächsischer Staatsopernchor Dresden make their PENTATONE debut.

Leave a Reply