Home » Organ Works » Axel Ruoff: Complete Works for Organ vol.1 (24/96 FLAC)

Axel Ruoff: Complete Works for Organ vol.1 (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Axel Ruoff
Performer: Jan Lehtola
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Toccata
Release: 2020
Size: 1.3 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Toccata No. 6 “Sacrum”

9 Easy Pieces
02. No. 1, Präludium
03. No. 2, Choral
04. No. 3, Capriccio
05. No. 4, Intermezzo
06. No. 5, Romanze
07. No. 6, Interludium
08. No. 7, Bagatelle
09. No. 8, Scherzo
10. No. 9, Postludium

11. Toccata No. 5 “Morgengesang”

3 Fantastic Dances
12. No. 1, Sehr rasch, scharf artikuliert
13. No. 2, Allegro assai
14. No. 3, Presto

15. Toccata No. 4 “Erhebt euch, Pforten der Weltzeit”
16. Wie liegt die Stadt so verlassen
17. Via Dolorosa
18. Toccata No. 2 “Schalen des Zorns”

The organ works of Axel Ruoff, born in Stuttgart in 1957, constitute one of the most important contributions to the literature for the instrument by any composer since Messiaen. Stylistically, his music unites the French cathedral tradition of composers like Langlais, Dupré and Guillou with the concern for counterpoint and logic heard in Reger and later German figures. Like Messiaen, Ruoff often finds stimulus in religious sources; unlike him, it is biblical narrative that inspires many of Ruoff’s works, and he uses the unparalleled resources of the modern symphonic organ in his response to some of the most dramatic scenes in the Old Testament, writing music of freewheeling energy and uncompromising power.