Alexandre Tharaud - Versailles (24/96 FLAC)
Alexandre Tharaud – Versailles (24/96 FLAC)

Performer: Alexandre Tharaud, Sabine Devieilhe, Justin Taylor
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Erato
Size: 1.28 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Rameau: Premier Livre de pieces de clavecin: Prelude
02. Rameau: Le rappel des oiseaux
03. Visée: Sarabande
04. Rameau: Suite in E minor: Le Tambourin
05. Royer: Premier livre de pièces de clavecin: VI. L’Aimable
06. Rameau: Gavotte et doubles
07. Anglebert: Sarabande: Dieu des Enfers
08. Royer: La Marche des Scythes
09. Rameau: Viens, hymen (from Les Indes Galantes)
10. Royer: Premier et deuxième Tambourins (from Premier livre de pièces de clavecin)
11. Couperin: Pièces de clavecin IV: Ordre 25ème in E flat major: Les ombres errantes
12. Duphly: Rondeau: La Pothoüin
13. Rameau: Les Sauvages
14. Anglebert: Chaconne [from Pièces in C]
15. Anglebert: Cadmus: Overture (after Lully)
16. Couperin: Pièces de clavecin II: Ordre 8ème in B minor: Passacaille
17. Anglebert: Fugue grave
18. Duphly: La de Belombre (from Troisième livre de pièces de clavecin)
19. Lully: Marche pour la cérémonie des Turcs
20. Balbastre: La Suzanne
21. Anglebert: Variations sur Les Folies d’Espagne in Pièces de clavecin

Alexandre Tharaud pays tribute to composers associated with the courts of the French kings Louis XIV, XV and XVI. Lully, Rameau, Charpentier and François Couperin stand beside lesser-known masters: d’Anglebert, Forqueray, Royer, Duphly and Balbastre. “I’ve always been attracted by French music of this period,” says Tharaud, adding that when he plays the album’s initial Rameau prelude, “It’s like being alone at Versailles, opening the doors and entering those huge, imposing rooms.”

Leave a Reply