Skip to content

Alessio Bax – Italian Inspirations (24/96 FLAC)

Alessio Bax - Italian Inspirations (24/96 FLAC)

Alessio Bax – Italian Inspirations (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Sergey Rachmaninov, Luigi Dallapiccola, Ferencz Liszt
Performer: Alessio Bax
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Signum
Release: 2020
Size: 0.99 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Johann Sebastian Bach:
Keyboard Concerto in D minor (after Marcello), BWV974
01. I. Andante Spiccato
02. II. Adagio
03. III. Presto

Sergey Rachmaninov:
Variations on a theme of Corelli, Op. 42
04. Theme
05. Variation I
06. Variation II
07. Variation III
08. Variations IV & V
09. Variation VI
10. Variation VII
11. Variation VIII
12. Variation IX
13. Variation X
14. Variation XI
15. Variation XII
16. Variation XIII
17. Intermezzo
18. Variation XIV
19. Variation XV
20. Variation XVI
21. Variation XVII
22. Variation XVIII
23. Variation XIX
24. Variation XX
25. Coda

Luigi Dallapiccola:
Quaderno musicale di Annalibera
26. I. Simbolo
27. II. Accenti
28. III. Contrapunctus primus
29. IV. Linee
30. V. Contrapunctus secondus
31. VI. Fregi
32. VII. Andantino amoroso e contrapunctus tertius
33. VIII. Ritmi
34. IX. Colore
35. X. Ombre
36. XI. Quartina

Ferencz Liszt:
37. Legende S.175 No. 1, St Francis of Assisi preaching to the birds
38. Après une lecture du Dante, fantasia quasi sonata (Années de pèlerinage II, S. 161 No. 7)

Alessio Bax plays an Italian-inspired programme, picking his favourite pieces taken from a rich history of music from one of the most romantic countries in the world.  He opens the programme with a J.S. Bach transcription of an oboe concerto by Venetian composer Alessandro Marcello, which reveals a deep insight into Bach’s mind.

This is followed by Rachmaninov’s last ever work for solo piano, which is incredibly eloquent, introspective and personal.

The Dallapiccola continues this eloquent theme, showing some beautifully crafted dodecaphonism. The recording is rounded off with two pieces by Liszt, which take the listener on a multi-legged journey through Hell, Purgatory and Heaven, with beauty and drama along the way.

Leave a Reply