Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Aimard: Beethoven – Hommerklavier (24/96 FLAC)

Aimard: Beethoven – Hommerklavier (24/96 FLAC)

Aimard: Beethoven - Hommerklavier (24/96 FLAC)

Aimard: Beethoven – Hommerklavier (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
Performer: Pierre-Laurent Aimard
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Pentatone
Release: 2021
Size: 1.02 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Piano Sonata No. 29 in B-flat major, Op. 106 ‘Hammerklavier’
01. I. Allegro
02. II. Scherzo. Assai vivace
03. III. Adagio sostenuto
04. IV. Largo – Allegro risoluto

Eroica Variations, Op. 35
05. Introduzione col basso del tema
06. Var. 1
07. Var. 2
08. Var. 3
09. Var. 4
10. Var. 5
11. Var. 6
12. Var. 7
13. Var. 8
14. Var. 9
15. Var. 10
16. Var. 11
17. Var. 12
18. Var. 13
19. Var. 14
20. Var. 15
21. Finale. Alla fuga

After his acclaimed interpretation of Messiaen’s Catalogue d’Oiseaux, pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard returns to PENTATONE with a recording of Beethoven’s Hammerklavier Sonata and Eroica Variations. The Hammerklavier Sonata is one of the pinnacles of Beethoven’s creative output, and arguably one of the highest mountains to climb for any pianist. To Aimard, it poses one of the most frightening tests of a performer’s life, but one that is as irresistible as it is insurmountable.

The dazzling Eroica Variations are nicknamed after Beethoven’s iconoclastic Third Symphony, and employ the melody he would later use as the main theme of the symphony’s finale. Beethoven’s fondness for this melody is evident, as he also used it in his ballet music for The Creatures of Prometheus, as well as in the seventh of his 12 Contredanses.

Widely acclaimed as a key figure in the music of our time and as a uniquely significant interpreter of piano repertoire from every age, Pierre-Laurent Aimard enjoys an internationally celebrated career. He started his exclusive engagement to PENTATONE with a complete recording of Messiaen’s Catalogue d’Oiseaux (2018).

Leave a Reply